Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

7 Jul

Scholastic Canada, 2009

Twenty-four are forced to enter. Only the winner survives.

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Each year, the districts are forced by the Capitol to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the Hunger Games, a brutal and terrifying fight to the death – televised for all of Panem to see.

Survival is second nature for sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who struggles to feed her mother and younger sister by secretly hunting and gathering beyond the fences of District 12. When Katniss steps in to take the place of her sister in the Hunger Games, she knows it may be her death sentence. If she is to survive, she must weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

From Scholastic Canada website.

It took me a bit to get into this one, but my gods, once I did I was addicted.   I mean, I couldn’t put it down. And once I finished it I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I pretty much immediately started the sequel, Catching Fire, because I wanted, no I NEEDED to know what happened next to Katniss.

The Hunger Games is one heck of a roller coaster. I mean, the whole book centers around 24 teens trying to kill each other, so how could it not be? I loved the fact that parts of the story gave me a bit of an adrenalin rush. The writing was tight, the characters realistic and Collins has no issues dealing out death and violence hand over fist.

But The Hunger Games isn’t only about destruction, no. There is a pretty unconventional love story at the center of the book. As I’ve mentioned in other reviews, I’m not a big fan of romance in books. But like a lot of the great YA dystopia that is coming out, the romance isn’t’ overdone here and adds to the tension of the story.

I’ve read Catching Fire and will be reviewing it next week. Mockingjay, the third and final in the trilogy comes out later this summer and is perhaps one of the most anticipated YA summer releases. OMG it’s gonna be goooood!

Take a boo inside The Hunger Games.

13 Responses to “Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins”

  1. amymckie July 7, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    I’m glad you enjoyed this! Will you go to the Indigo release party for Mockingjay?

    • lavenderlines July 7, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

      Um, what is this release party that you speak of?

      • amymckie July 7, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

        My sister worked there until just recently and she mentioned that the night before they are having a party. I don’t have the details though.

      • lavenderlines July 7, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

        May consider it, although I’m hoping to get a review copy.

      • amymckie July 7, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

        Makes sense! If not, you are welcome to join us 😀

      • lavenderlines July 7, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

        Oooh, I may go anyway!

      • amymckie July 7, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

        Woo! I’ll give you more info when I get more from my sister 🙂

  2. brandileigh2003 July 8, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    I enjoyed this one too, though I agree it took me a bit to get into because I had never read a dystopian book before. Devoured it and Catching Fire!

  3. Jamie July 12, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Loved this book too! I’m broke and dying to get my hands on the second book..so I’m putting all my change together to buy it! Oh the plight of the bookaholic! 🙂

    Can’t wait to read your review of Catching Fire!

    • lavenderlines July 12, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

      I won’t give anything away in my review, promises. 🙂

  4. Celine July 25, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    Nice review! I love The Hunger Games series. I cannot wait to read Mockingjay!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - July 8, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by NightsEmbrace, Colleen McKie. Colleen McKie said: I've finally written my review of The Hunger Games. http://wp.me/pAWn2-eq […]

  2. Book Review: "The Hunger Games" by Suzanne Collins | Bookish Nose - July 19, 2010

    […] Lavender Lines: Review: The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins […]

Leave a comment