Wednesday’s Words: Back Alley Beauty

7 Jul

I’ve recently starting mucking about with flash fiction. I can have a bit of a short attention span and find that the short pieces are great to not only get me writing, but get me thinking about larger projects. This is one of the first pieces I wrote and it’s my first time sharing. So go easy on me!

I thought about telling him the truth. For one whole second. I swear I did. Then I looked him square in his beautifully beady eyes and it dawned on me: I haven’t known him but a minute. No way to figure out how he’d react to the truth, all the truth and nothing except the truth.

He leaned against the alley wall, resting his foot on an old can of baby blue pant and blew smoke out his nose and his thin, parted lips. I could hear the traffic behind me, steady and normal.

I moved out of the sun, hoping the make-up covered my black eye. Not that he’d ask. Or care. I leaned in and grabbed his cigarette. Took a drag. Pulled up my bra strap and stuck out my chest.

“So, about the money…..”

5 Responses to “Wednesday’s Words: Back Alley Beauty”

  1. amymckie July 7, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    I LOVE your new layout! Very pretty and simplistic and wonderful! Also, I enjoy your story, but I want moooore! (As you can tell, I prefer longer stories!)

    • lavenderlines July 7, 2010 at 8:34 am #

      Thanks! I HATED the way my blog looked, so I picked a new theme yesterday.

      I do write longer stuff. Maybe some day you’ll be aching for an ARC of mine. 😛

      • amymckie July 7, 2010 at 9:03 am #

        Really? I liked it, but I do like this more 😀 So great choice. And glad that you are happier with it now.

        Oh, and I certainly will be begging when that day comes!

  2. littlefluffycat July 7, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    This is a nice visual!

    I know it sounds impossible, but it’s good to shoot for a story arc, even if it’s abbreviated. (And flash is generally considered at least 500 words, often as much as 1000, so really you have space.)

    You can make more words available by using only critical adjectives and adverbs. Example: “old can of baby blue paint” => “rusted paint can”.

    • lavenderlines July 7, 2010 at 8:35 am #

      Thanks for the tips. 🙂

      Yeah, I’m a bit short of 500 words.

Leave a Reply

