BBAW and awkward self-promotion

8 Jul

Last year I was a bit of a lurker when it came to Book Blogger Appreciation Week (BBAW).  I poked around different blogs, entered contests and followed the goings-on through Twitter. This year I decided I wanted to take part, so I hopped on over to their website and registered. Well, it seems that when you register, you have to self-nominate yourself for an award in your chosen category. I baulked at this at first, because I didn’t want to throw my shoulder out patting myself on the back. But then I thought, “You know what? I like my blog. I like working on my blog. So what the heck, I’m gonna do it!”

Since I don’t really have a niche and tend review what appeals to me regardless of the genre, I plopped myself into the Best Eclectic Book Blog category. The next step was to choose 5 blog post that I thought best represented my blog.  I went back through my posts and, low and behold, here are my 5:

Review: Radiant Shadows by Melissa Marr

Review: Spin by Catherine McKenzie

The Author Effect

Review: The Hands of Forest and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

Review: The Strain by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan

There you have it, folks. My 5 top posts, according to moi. I think that they best represent not only me, but the slight evolution my writing and review style has taken over the past year. I don’t think I’ll win, but, hey, who knows? Weirder things have happened.

6 Responses to “BBAW and awkward self-promotion”

  1. amymckie July 8, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    Congrats on registering! Glad to see so many great blogs signed up 😀

    • lavenderlines July 8, 2010 at 7:43 am #

      Thx!

  2. Amanda Makepeace July 8, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    I’ll be rooting for you! 😀

  3. steph July 8, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

    I’d never heard of this till today! Good luck with your entries!

    • lavenderlines July 9, 2010 at 7:38 am #

      It’s lots of fun. And a TON of book giveaways. 🙂

      • steph July 9, 2010 at 8:10 am #

        I would not say no to a book giveaway!

Leave a Reply

