The Creeping — Alexandra Sirowy

22 Jan

thecreepingPublisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Released: August 18th, 2015
Genre: YA horror
Source: Paperback review copy from publisher

 

 

 

Eleven years ago, Stella and Jeanie disappeared. Stella came back. Jeanie never did.

Now all she wants is a summer full of cove days, friends, and her gorgeous crush—until a fresh corpse leads Stella down a path of ancient evil and secrets.

Stella believes remembering what happened to Jeanie will save her. It won’t.

She used to know better than to believe in what slinks through the shadows. Not anymore.

From Goodreads

 

Do I ever love me a good creepy story! And the main plot of this book was just the right level of creepy for me. I really loved how Stella had no idea what had happened the day Jeanie disappeared and that as a reader I also had no idea. I’m not a fan of scary books where the reader knows more than the main character. So the telling of this story was perfect for me.

I also loved that there was no clear path to what had happened to Jeanie. I never really had a moment where I went “Ah I know what happened!” There were enough possibilities that I was pleasantly surprised at the end.

I enjoyed the romancy stuff somewhat. I think the book would have been just as strong without it. It didn’t take away from the story, I’m just not 100% convinced it was needed.

One thing I really didn’t like was Zoey. She was, quite possibly, one of the worst best friends I’ve ever read. I’m not sure if that’s how the author meant for her to come across, but she has some truly cringe-worthy moments.

The tone of the book was spot on and the descriptions were delicious. I loved the feel of The Creeping and was creeped out plenty.

Leave a Reply

