Stronger — Lani Woodland

23 Jan

stronger

 

Released: August 24th, 2014
Genre: Young adult, sci-fi
Source: Ebook from author for review

 

 

It’s been said, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. In the aftermath of an alien invasion, the old saying became literal.

When the aliens attacked Earth, their bombs changed our atmosphere. Through DNA manipulation, humanity survived, but exist now as two distinct classes of people: the Valudis who heal and gain strength from every hurt, and the weaker Debilii, for whom the slightest injury can be fatal. The Debilii are servants for the Valudis, who in turn act as warriors and protectors. And ruling over them all are the alien Orions who decided they liked Earth enough to stay.

Despite being born a Debilii, Lexie Hake bravely joined the resistance to free Earth from the Orions. When several run-ins with Bryant, a handsome Valudis, bring her secret activities to the aliens’ notice, the whole rebellion is put at risk. Lexie is forced to take a more active role in overthrowing the Orions. ‪She might be Earth’s last chance at freedom, and if she fails, the Orions’ ruthless reign may never end.

From Goodreads

Okay, this book has one of THE BEST opening lines I’ve ever read. I mean, it sucked me right in and made me go “WHAT?” right off the bat. The book started off with a bang and pretty much continued right through.

This was a fast read for me. I read about 75% of it in one sitting and often found that I had to do that thing where I force myself to SLOW DOWN AND READ ALL THE WORDS. This was an action-packed book, my friends. A lot of holy shit moments take place and it was a fun and plot-twisty kinda read.

The world-building was top-notch. I could picture each building and also each species. This is super important for me, since I am not a visual person. Usually I can’t visualize what’s being described to me. But Lani did such an amazing job describing everything that it felt like I was there.

Lexie was an awesome main character. Rather kick-ass. She has a lot thrown at her and I liked that while she did have moments of feeling sorry for herself, she never sunk into a damsel in distress. But she wasn’t obnoxious about her ability, either. She was unsure of herself at times, and this just added to the believability of the character.

I really enjoyed Stronger and was sad when the book ended. (Any chance of a sequel, Lani? :D)

Leave a Reply

