The Last Song – Eva Wiseman

16 Jul

Publisher: Tundra Books
Released: April 10th, 2012
Genre: YA historical fiction
Review copy from publisher

Spain had been one of the world’s most tolerant societies for eight hundred years, but that way of life was wiped out by the Inquisition. Isabel’s family feels safe from the terrors, torture, and burnings. After all, her father is a respected physician in the court of Ferdinand and Isabella. Isabel was raised as a Catholic and doesn’t know that her family’s Jewish roots may be a death sentence. When her father is arrested by Torquemada, the Grand Inquisitor, she makes a desperate plan to save his life – and her own.

From Tundra Books website.

I admittedly don’t read a lot of historical fiction. I generally really enjoy it when I do, but it’s not a genre I gravitate to. But to me, The Last Song was almost hist-fict lite. I would have liked to have seen a lot more detail about the time period. I felt that the author brushed over some things that could have enriched the story more. Despite the nature of the plot and the time frame that the book takes place, it was a fairly happy novel and I’m not sure that tone did the writing or the characters justice.

It was an enjoyable book, don’t get me wrong. But I found that at times it almost bordered on fluffy. Like I said, I would have liked to have seen some more depth to the plot and the characters.

I think that die-hard fans of hist-fict may find The Last Song a bit light for them. But, I think this is an excellent book for those who want to get into the genre but don’t want to start with anything really long or really heavy in tone.

2 Responses to “The Last Song – Eva Wiseman”

  1. Rhiannon July 16, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    I found she got really embroiled in religious ritual and miscellany and sort of lost her chance at developing her characters. I agree its a fascinating point in history that she didn’t really plum as well as she could have. I read The Book of Blood and Shadow right after and thought it was a made much better use of religion and historical details.

    • lavenderlines July 16, 2012 at 9:57 am #

      I’ll have to add The Book of Blood and Shadow to my wish-list.

Leave a Reply

