Fierce Ink Press

8 Jun

Anyone who follows me on Twitter or Facebook has probably heard me talk about my super sekrit project. It first came about in November and I’ve been working on it since January. And the thing is, I haven’t been working on it alone. My friend and business partner Kimberly Walsh is in cahoots with me. She just doesn’t have as big of a mouth as I do. 🙂

We were going to wait a bit longer to announce this super sekrit project, but we’re a finalist for the Start-Up PEI Challenge, with the winner being announced tonight.

So, what is this super sekrit project?

Fierce Ink Press! Kimberly and I are starting our very own publishing label. We will be publishing young adult books by Atlantic Canadian authors (PEI, NS, NB, NFLD). Fierce Ink is a co-op, so all of our authors will actually be a part of the company. You can kinda think of us as a melding of traditional publishing and self publishing. Kinda. But of course, being who we are, we’re blazing our own trail and approaching things differently.

Our first title will launch Septemebr 23. I can’t let you in on the deets just yet, but it’s just, well, I LURVE it. I’m so excited for you guys to get your grubbies on it. (Maybe even before the release?) We’re also publishing some non-fiction pieces about all things teen.

So, yeah, to say I am excited and nerved up and giggly and just plan HAPPY would be putting it mildly.

10 Responses to “Fierce Ink Press”

  1. Jo June 8, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    Such wonderful news! Wishing you the very best of luck and success with Fierce Ink Press! I can’t think of two more creative and intrepid trail blazers! xxx

    • lavenderlines June 8, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      Aw, thank Jo!

  2. Kirstin June 8, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    woo hoo! sounds AWESOME!!

  3. Kim June 8, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    Wow! That is so awesome! Congrats and good luck to both of you!!

  4. Ashley @ Book Labyrinth June 8, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    That is EXCITING!! Way to go! Can’t wait to hear even more details.

    Let me know if you ever want to promote anything on my blog, because I am all about helping out fellow Canadians.

  5. Raidergirl3 June 8, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Congrats!! Great name too. Good luck in getting things off the ground, and in the Startup PEI challenge.

  6. Jody June 8, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    That’s amazing Colleen. Good for you guys and all the best of luck to you both.

  7. Danya June 8, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Very cool news!! It’s great to hear about a press being launched devoted exclusively to Atlantic Canadian authors of YA. Good luck! Would love to hear more details as things go along 🙂

  8. Cait H. June 8, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    So exciting!! This is amazing Colleen, congrats! I’m so happy for you 🙂

  9. Well-Read Reviews (@wellreadreviews) June 9, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Great minds think alike, haha! I do have a publishing label coming out, too. But US based. 😉 Can’t wait to see the new title you guys are debuting with! 🙂

    Allison
    http://www.wellreadreviews.com

Leave a Reply

