THE SUMMER ESSENTIALS Blog Tour!

1 Jun

I LOVE Hélène Boudreau’s Real Mermaids series. Love, love, LOOOOOOOOVE! So I’m over-the-moon-so-giddy-I-can’t-breath happy to be hosting her today as part of The Summer Essentials blog tour! Hélène is from my neck of the woods (I’m on a different Island, but still a Maritimer) so I was beyond curious to find out about Hélène’s childhood.  AND, I have one copy of Hélène’s Real Mermaids Don’t Hold Their Breath along with Stacey Graham’s The Girls’ Ghost Hunting Guide (Both amazing summer reads).

Summer Island Breeze: Find out what it was like for Hélène to grow up on an island in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean! Salty sea smells every day? I’ll take it!

Okay, so not exactly in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean but I grew up on a very small island off the coast of Canada and it may as well have been the middle of nowhere because looking back, it sure felt like a different world.

First, you have to take a causeway, then a drawbridge, then another bridge before finally arriving to my little slice of island paradise called Petit de Grat. Petit de Grat is not a tropical utopia but it was a pretty unique place to grow up in that:

1. My friends and I used to have sleepovers on my dad’s fishing boat while it was moored in the middle of our harbour.
2. The island only had a few hundred inhabitants but was full of kind-hearted, colourful characters.
3. Wild cows roamed the east end of our island and were known to chase us through forest paths.

So how did my childhood affect my process of writing the Real Mermaids series?

1. My dad took us for boat rides to a town on the mainland called St. Peters. We sailed up a canal from the ocean to a fresh water lake. That canal inspired the setting of my fictional town of Port Toulouse. I often wondered if the purple jellyfish in the ocean knew about the white jellyfish in the lake. It amazed me that two totally different underwater worlds could be separated by just a mile-long canal. That was the inspiration for the mer-world in these books.
2. I wanted my fictional town of Port Toulouse to be small and quaint, with a strong sense of community and full of fun characters like where I grew up.
3. It was a bit harder to work in the wild cows so mermaids seemed like a good alternative. 😉

You can find Hélène on Twitter, Facebook and on her Website.

Thanks so much for stopping by Hélène! And now on to the giveaway!

Giveaway

Like I said, I have a copy of Hélène’s Real Mermaids Don’t Hold Their Breath and Stacey Graham’s The Girls’ Ghost Hunting Guide to one lucky American or Canadian reader. All you have to do is comment below and tell me of a favorite childhood summer activity or a ghosty experience you’ve had. I’ll choose the winner on June 6th.


5 Responses to “THE SUMMER ESSENTIALS Blog Tour!”

  1. Jody Bernard June 1, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Summers were always so great growing up. I think my favorite part was every year when we really young we would go camping…real camping in a tent and we cooked over a fire or one of those green gas stoves if we had one. As we got older our tent wasn’t really big enough for five so we’d rent a rustic cottage for a week. The cottage had running water but I don’t think it had electricity. I remember the old fridge that was in there. It wasn’t cooled by electricity…as I said, there was none but every couple of days the owner would stop by with a large block of ice and put it in the top of the fridge. I thought that was pretty freaking cool. That was one of my favorite parts of being there, of course the ocean 50 feet away didn’t hurt either.

  2. JenP June 1, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    I loved playing tag after dark growing up.

  3. LaMishia Allen June 4, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    i personally loved catching fireflies in jars, and loved it even better when we got to let them go. it was like capturing a present that i know i will get to experience again.

  4. Colleen Easter June 6, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    I lived next to a softball field bordered on woods and while I hated softball I loved the space it gave us. We played “war” over this incredible amount of space screaming and hollering our heads off.. No neighbours complaining about noise where I lived!

  5. Cullie November 15, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    When you come through the St. Peter’s canal from the ocean side you enter into the Bras D’or lake, which is the largest salt water lake in the world (I do believe). The Village of St. Peter’s is also on Cape Breton Island not on the mainland as mentioned here.

Leave a Reply

