will grayson, will grayson – John Green & David Levithan

29 Feb

One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, Will Grayson crosses paths with . . . Will Grayson. Two teens with the same name, running in two very different circles, suddenly find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, and culminating in epic turns-of-heart and the most fabulous musical ever to grace the high school stage. Told in alternating voices from two YA superstars, this collaborative novel features a double helping of the heart and humor that have won them both legions of fans.

I just, I can’t, I mean, it’s, well, GAH!!!!!!!! I have no frigging idea what to say about this book. Can I just say it’s unbelivably awesome and leave it at that? Because the level of love I have for will grayson, will grayson leaves me pretty much mushy-brained and speechless.

This is one of the most honest, uniquest books I’ve read in a long time.I mean, some pretty out there stuff happens, but it all makes sense in the context of the main story. The character portrayals were so realistic it was awkward at times.

Yes, the story is about two guys named Will Grayson, but it’s Tiny Cooper, a secondary character and best bud to one of the Will’s that steals the show and takes the book from awesome to amazingly awesome. I just loved him. I mean, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t want to know him or be his friend, but I loved him none the less.

The two Wills meeting, their lives intersecting like that was just, well, neat. Yup, neat. I love when random characters in a book or movie all of a sudden are connected. I mean, really, isn’t that how life goes a lot of the time?

This was a loud, obnoxious, hilarious, awkward book. I’m just filled with so much love for it I’m about to bust.

4 Responses to “will grayson, will grayson – John Green & David Levithan”

  1. Ann March 1, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Stopped by your blog today
    Ann

  2. Steph March 2, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    I couldn’t finish this one! I didn’t get past them going out to a bar or something like that at the beginning. Just couldn’t get into the writing or the story. Funny, eh, how different reactions can be to the same book. Of course, we’re all different readers. But it always amazes me. I honestly think it’s neat, really.

    • lavenderlines March 8, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      Heh, yeah, and I’m not one of those readers that gets pissy when people don’t love books I love. As far as I concerned, there’s room for all kinds of book sand reading preferences. :0)

  3. amymckie March 6, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    Glad to hear you liked this 🙂

Leave a Reply

