The Lunenberg Werewolf book & T-shirt giveaway

17 Feb

My friends over at Nimbus Publishing were nice enough to give me one copy of Steve Vernon’s The Lunenberg Werewolf and Other Stories of the Supernatural AND a Lunenburg Werewolf T-shirt(size large) to give away to you guys. I’m about half way through the book and it’s so good! Creepy and spine-tingling in all the good ways.

As usual, I’m going to make the giveaway pretty easy. No hoops to jump through, no need to follow, retweet, reblog, etc. All you have to do is comment below and tell me of something that creeps you out. The contest is open to Canucks only and will run until 11:59 Est February 24th.

59 Responses to “The Lunenberg Werewolf book & T-shirt giveaway”

  1. Mary Preston February 17, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    Strange noises in the night always creep me out.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 9:17 am #

      Me, too! especially when the noise sets our dogs to barking.

  2. Sheryl February 17, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    I’m not a big fan of the dark, never have been (I’m one of those people who sleeps with her head under the covers)…but I especially hate it when we’re camping in the tent in an unfamiliar spot and I have to get up in the middle of the night. It’s always cold and pitch black and inevitably there will be a coyote howling somewhere. That really creeps me out!

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      If I don’t have a way of turning the lights on, I totally freak out. HATE the dark.

  3. lauriecburns February 17, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    I have always been afraid of someone breaking into my house. Just the aloneness of what the hell do I do now. It’s my only fear. So I used to not sleep when I was alone. Then I got two dogs.

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 9:56 am #

      I can totally sympathize. I live by myself in the country three weeks out of the month. Although sometimes the dogs barking at night freaks me out!

  4. T Sullivan February 17, 2012 at 10:08 am #

    What creeps me out is that even when
    the power is off there is still a “hum”
    about the house as if it us still on…

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 10:17 am #

      Okay THAT gave me goosebumps!!!

  5. marlene tupper February 17, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    I definitely have to sleep with a light on.

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 10:18 am #

      I have a nightlight in my hall. 🙂

  6. Ashley Marlin February 17, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    I have an old house. What creeps me out is when I have turned off all the lights downstairs and am heading up to stairs to bed – every once and a while I will get that strange feeling in my stomach like someone is right behind me and I have to turn to stair light right away and run up. Freaks me out.

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      Well, I wasn’t creeped out by that, but now I am! :0P

  7. Steve Vernon February 17, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    What creeps me out is the thought that I’ve got two of these t-shirts hanging in my closet – one large and one extra-large. Time was, the large would have fit me just fine. These days the large still fits – if I want to stick a jewel in my belly button and take up bellydancing.

    And that, my friends, is a truly scary thought.

    Thanks to Colleen at Lavender Lines, the good folks at Nimbus and all of my loyal readers. I hope that who ever wins enjoys the read!

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 10:51 am #

      Well now I can’t get the image of you belly-dancing out of my mind. My work day is SHOT. :0P

      • Steve Vernon February 19, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

        I told you I was a horror writer…

  8. Sandy Walsh™ (@TheSandyWalsh) February 17, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Anything to do with eyeballs. Arguably this grosses me out more than creeps me out, but it still makes my skin crawl. Other than that it’s being in a dark place where I *know* there is another person close by. The dark itself doesn’t bother me, it’s just knowing someone/thing could jump out at me.

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 10:52 am #

      I’m the same way with someone near by. Even if I know Jason’s going to scare me, it scares me.

    • Steve Vernon February 19, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

      Funny story – many years ago I took a first aid course. They showed us this film with people in car accidents, one fellow with a piece of steel imbedded in his chest – I was cool with everything. Then they showed how to get something out of another person’s eye and (in the words of Patsy Cline) I fall to pieces…

      • lavenderlines February 20, 2012 at 8:31 am #

        Ew!!!! It’s weird what freaks us out and what doesn’t, eh? I’m fine with gore and such, but refuse to go into a haunted house.

  9. Kathy Mac February 17, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    Ah. What creeps me out is how many people think I’m their long lost cousin from Upper Upsalsquich or some such place. I have such a generic face — “bog irish” my ever-lovin’ hubby calls it — that I seem to have doppelgangers all over the WORLD. Creepy.

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 11:01 am #

      Yeah, that would creep me out for sure. I’d also be tempted to tell them, “Why yes, I am! Didn’t you get my letter? I’m living with you now.”

  10. Karen February 17, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    Shadow people always spook me

  11. Tammy Nickerson February 17, 2012 at 11:10 am #

    Camping freaks me out… The thought of sleeping in a tent and the only thing seperating me and some crazy person or wild animal is a piece of material.. Don’t like it at all. 🙂

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 11:14 am #

      I only went camping a couple of times – once during a hurricane. My idea of camping now is a cottage without WiFi. LOL

  12. Sandra Kasturi February 17, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    My friend told me this story once that has given me a chill ever since. She was taking her daily stroll past the cemetery with her toddler, and he said, “Look, Mommy, the radio people!” And he was pointing into the cemetery toward the graves. She looked and there was no one there. And he kept insisting, “The radio people!” Well, she thought nothing more of it. Later that day, the TV was on and one of those iPod commercials came on. You know the ones, with the black shadow of a person comes on, dancing, wearing an iPod? The kid pointed at the TV and said, “The radio people!” They didn’t walk past the cemetery any more after that. That story creeps me out beyond belief, because it really happened.

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 11:41 am #

      Holy goosebumps!

  13. Donal Smith February 17, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Walking our miniature poodle (flexy leed) on the coyote populated golf course, which backs right onto our Collingwood condo so no walk is better, at night! The entire Town has the same problem and even large dogs get nailed.

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 11:41 am #

      Yikes!

  14. Scott February 17, 2012 at 11:44 am #

    Those pop-up things people send you. The ones where you’re watching a video and then up pops a grotty picture of Linda Blair.

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      OMG my mom sent me one of those years ago. I called her up crying and blubbering. Took me an hour to calm down. She doesn’t send them anymore.

  15. Tan February 17, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Giant flocks of sparrows taking flight, a la Dark Half by Stephen King.

    • lavenderlines February 17, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      I love crows, but when I see a large murder of them just hanging out, I always think of Hitchcock’s The Birds. End up creeping myself out.

      • Scott February 18, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

        What about a cackle of hyenas? Or an unkindness of ravens? Or a scream of swifts? Or an ambush of tigers? Or my favourite, a pandemonium of parrots?

      • Kimberly Walsh February 20, 2012 at 9:16 am #

        Every dusk at my alma mater, the sky and trees used to be black with crows settling in for the evening. It always reminded me of a Stephen King novel or Alfred Hitchcock movie. Still makes me shudder a little.

      • lavenderlines February 20, 2012 at 9:27 am #

        We had the same think at the X – except it was bats. *shudders*

  16. Wendy February 17, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Halloween night we always start trick or treating at the graveyard just on the outside of our community. We get dropped off there and just visit our family members that have past on while we are waiting for it to get dark enough to start. Once it is dark enough we make our way to the exit and all the solar lights (that people have put near their loved ones plots) start to glow. Creepy looking back because your imagination starts to see people floating.

  17. Chrisanna Doyle February 17, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    Something that creeps me out: antique shops with old medical equipment. Scarificators and the like, nestled into red felted wool. The cases are cool, but the contents are creepy!

  18. dorothyanneb February 17, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

    A relatively new male friend took me camping in his motorhome around Cape Breton in October. Two spots freaked me out totally – a campground where we were obviously the only tenants of the human variety – way up in the woods – and the Fredricton Walmart parking lot (you can stay for free there) and we were alone but totally out in the open, ripe for the plucking.

  19. Helen Kubiw February 17, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    Long narrow alleyways that seem to go on forever are frightening to me. With no end in sight and the feeling that the walls could be getting closer together is far too much for me to take. It’s even worse with tunnels below ground.

  20. Jody Bernard February 17, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    I have this ridiculous fear that if I turn the lights out completely before I get into bed, someone is going to grab my feet from under my bed. I always need some type of light until I get my feet under the covers.

    • lavenderlines February 18, 2012 at 7:54 am #

      And I can’t sleep with my feet hanging over the bed for the same reason!

  21. Leslie Baker February 17, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Dolls. Creepy freakin’ dolls with eyes that close. Even worse, creepy freakin’ clown dolls with eyes that close. ‘nough said.

    • lavenderlines February 18, 2012 at 7:53 am #

      When we looked at our house fore the first time, there was a bedroom that was dedicated to a doll collection. If I hadn’t already fallen in love with the house, it might have been a deal breaker.

  22. Lisa M February 18, 2012 at 12:23 am #

    What totally creeps me out is when it’s unnaturally quiet outside. No birds, no cars… nothing. It’s ominous and creepy and always makes me wonder what’s on the horizon…

    • lavenderlines February 18, 2012 at 7:53 am #

      I always think of werewolves. Or abominable snowmen. Even in the summer. LOL

  23. heather boies February 18, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Readin creepy novels! But I live for it!

  24. Trina Oickle-Pottie February 18, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    Thinking that I’ll be working with dentists for another 20 years creeps me out.

  25. Norm Robitza February 18, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Gory movies. I don’t like them but can go into a haunted house for hours researching and not get a fright.

    • lavenderlines February 20, 2012 at 8:30 am #

      I don’t like gory movies but can handle them. I have NEVER been in a haunted house.

  26. Steve Vernon February 19, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Reblogged this on stevevernonstoryteller and commented:
    Don’t forget about the Lavender LInes Lunenburg Werewolf giveaway!!!

  27. Jen February 20, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    I don’t like the dark woods…especially if it’s windy. Also…magnetic knife holder on the kitchen wall…totally creeps me out!

    • lavenderlines February 20, 2012 at 9:12 am #

      I have never seen a magnetic knife holder! Freaky!

  28. beanyvondoom February 20, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    Aliens creep me out. Yes, where most people might be afraid of ghosts in their house, I’m afraid there might be aliens, ready to take me on their ship.

  29. Jemrah1 February 20, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    Bats. Bats creep me out.

  30. Tim February 20, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    The creepiest thing is to not show the monster!

    • lavenderlines February 21, 2012 at 7:41 am #

      LOL That was my favorite book as a kid!!

  31. Jaclyn February 20, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Remember that scene in Interview with the Vampire, where child Kirsten Dunst cries so an elderly woman hugs her, and Kirsten then bites the elderly woman’s neck? That scene creeped me out so badly that, for months after watching the movie, I couldn’t hug anyone without my neck prickling.

  32. stephen macneil March 2, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Very little creeps me out, but one thing that does are mannequins… It’s that Freudian “uncanny” ability to sit in between realistic and not. I remember a twilight Zone episode with mannequins scared the bejeezus out of me as a kid.

Leave a Reply

