The Eleventh Plague – Jeff Hirsch

13 Feb

In an America devastated by war and plague, the only way to survive is to keep moving.

In the aftermath of a war, America’s landscape has been ravaged and two-thirds of the population left dead from a vicious strain of influenza. Fifteen-year-old Stephen Quinn and his family were among the few that survived and became salvagers, roaming the country in search of material to trade for food and other items essential for survival. But when Stephen’s grandfather dies and his father falls into a coma after an accident, Stephen finds his way to Settler’s Landing, a community that seems too good to be true, where there are real houses, barbecues, a school, and even baseball games. Then Stephen meets strong, defiant, mischievous Jenny, who refuses to accept things as they are. And when they play a prank on the town bully’s family that goes horribly wrong, chaos erupts, and they find themselves in the midst of a battle that will change Settler’s Landing forever.

I loves me some dysoptia. Man, I was reading post-apocalyptic books back when I didn’t even know it was a genre. These days I try to read whatever I can get my grubbies on. Zombies, plague, war…. I’m not picky.

The Eleventh Plague is right up my alley. The devastation has already happened and we’re dealing with several years later. Sometimes I like reading about the actual event, but in this case I think the author starts the story off where it needs to start. We’re filled in on what happened throughout the book, which is awesome.

While I liked this book, I didn’t love it. I found the pacing just a bit off. I think I would have liked to have seen the last third of the book actually be the last half of the book, or even more. Once Stephen and Jenny play their prank, things happen really, really fast. And I know that’s how it would have played out, but I would have liked to have seen a bit more of that part of the story.

With that being said, I did enjoy The Eleventh Plague. The writing was great and I really felt like I was there with Stephen. And I LOVE when things aren’t quite what they seem. And you get that plenty in this book.

3 Responses to “The Eleventh Plague – Jeff Hirsch”

  1. Jennifer Rayment February 16, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Been flipping back and forth on whether to pick this one up or not — Think from your review I am going to hold off unless I pick it up at a second hand store or something : )

    • Steph February 19, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

      I could leave the exact same comment as Jennifer’s!

      • lavenderlines February 20, 2012 at 9:14 am #

        Yeah, I’d say wait until it’s out in paperback or you can get it from the library.

Leave a Reply

