Fade to Blue – Sean Beaudoin

6 Feb

Sophie Blue started wearing a black skirt and Midnight Noir lipstick on her last birthday. It was also the day her father disappeared. Or spontaneously combusted. Which is sort of bad timing, since a Popsicle truck with tinted windows has started circling the house.

Kenny Fade is a basketball god. His sneakers cost more than his Jeep. He’s the guy all the ladies (and their mommas) want. Bad.

Sophie Blue and Kenny Fade don’t have a thing in common. Aside from being reasonably sure they’re losing their minds.

Losing my mind is exactly how I felt as I read Fade to Blue. Quite honestly for most of the book I didn’t have a frigging clue what was going on. I almost didn’t review it because I had no idea how to talk about a book I’m pretty sure you need to be on heavy meds to understand. But here’s the thing: despite the fact I have no idea what the Hell this book is about I LOVED IT.

I’m weird. This isn’t a huge secret. Or even a secret at all. And I tend to like weird things. Fade to Blue was weird. Hence my love for it.

Beside the fact that this is an YA book, I’m not even sure what genre it is. Paranormal? Mystery? Romance? No. Clue. But whatever it is, it was a seriously enjoyable read. I actually liked not really understanding what was going on. Because that’s how Beaudoin wrote the damn thing. Never once did I feel like I was stupid, or that the author was trying to make me feel stupid. What I did feel was happily confused. It was almost to the point that whenever I stepped outside the house, I kept expecting to see an ice cream truck.

I just really, really enjoyed Fade to Blue. What can I say? I like the weird.

Leave a Reply

