The Near Witch – Victoria Schwab

1 Feb

The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children.

If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for company.

And there are no strangers in the town of Near.

These are the truths that Lexi has heard all her life.

But when an actual strangerâa boy who seems to fade like smokeâappears outside her home on the moor at night, she knows that at least one of these sayings is no longer true.

The next night, the children of Near start disappearing from their beds, and the mysterious boy falls under suspicion. Still, he insists on helping Lexi search for them. Something tells her she can trust him.

As the hunt for the children intensifies, so does Lexi’s need to know about the witch that just might be more than a bedtime story, about the wind that seems to speak through the walls at night, and about the history of this nameless boy.

Holy super duper CREEPTASTIC! I mean, it was a goose-bumpy, fingernail-biting Hell of a book. I was never much into fairy tales when I was a kid, and I kinda see why. Fairy tales are some scary shizz, at least when done right. And The Near Witch? It’s near perfection.

I loved the premise of this story. I loved the sing-song Near witch nursery rhyme. I loved Lexi. I loved the secondary characters (well except for the mean ones). I loved the writing. Really I just plain and simple loved this book.

But what I think I loved the most about The Near Witch was the tone of the book. While there was a lot of action scenes and heart-pounding moments, Schwab wrote it in such a way that it was quiet and very mesmerizing. Kinda like the call of the wind. It just another element to the story, adding to the suspense and creepy feeling.

Lately I’ve been kinda getting a bit, well, tired of paranormal reads. I know, I know, I can’t believe I just said that, either. But with The Near Witch I felt like I was getting the supernatural that I crave in a story, but also something totally different.

There was a lot of hype around The Near Witch. And I am so, so happy that as far as I’m concerned, the book more than lived up to it.

One Response to “The Near Witch – Victoria Schwab”

  1. Amber Elise February 1, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Lol creeptastic! I think I need to add that word to my vocabulary! I’m so happy you liked it, I’m excited to read it now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

