2012 Random Reader Challenge – Historical Fiction

9 Jan

This reading challenge changes each month or so. And there are PRIZES! I mean, who doesn’t love free stuff, right? Random House Canada is the host of this one and the first reading challenge has to do with all things hist-fict.

Basically they have a list of historical fiction books on their website and the challenge is to read one from the list by February 29th(yay leap year!). I’m not a HUGE hist-fict reader, although I have already read one from the list and it made my best of 2011 list (The Virgin Cure). I’m not sure which book from the list I’m going to read. Here are the choices:

The Winter Palace by Eva Stachniak (Available January 3. Check out the video trailer!)
The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay
The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
Midwife of Venice by Roberta Rich
The Salt Road by Jane Johnson
Madame Tussaud by Michelle Moran
Anything in the 
Outlander or Lord John series by Diana Gabaldon (If you haven’t met Jamie Fraser yet, are you ever in for a treat!

What say you, hist-fict fans? Which book should I read for this challenge?

9 Responses to “2012 Random Reader Challenge – Historical Fiction”

  1. Meghan Paton January 9, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    I think I’m going to do this too! Right now I’m reading The Paris Wife by Paula McLain – so far it’s really good, although I’m only 22 pages in.

    Last year I read and enjoyed Midwife of Venice by Roberta Rich – so that’s a good choice too.

    Although, the book I was most interested in reading was The Winter Palace by Eva Stachniak. But, I got the Paris Wife for Christmas and I’m trying not to buy any books in January so I can work on my to-read pile.

    • lavenderlines January 9, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      I almost picked up The Winter Palace the other day.

  2. Tamye January 9, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about The Winter Palace also and plan to pick it up, so that might be a good one to go with. I also have The Virgin Cure, but haven’t started it yet. Thank for bringing this challenge to our attention. I’m going to look into it.

    • lavenderlines January 9, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

      Yeah, I just bought The Winter Palace ebook. 🙂

      • Meghan Paton January 10, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

        You’ll have to tell me what you think of The Winter Palace!

      • lavenderlines January 11, 2012 at 9:58 am #

        Oh don’t worry, I will! Hoping to read it next week.

  3. Jaclyn January 10, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    I really liked Midwife of Venice. Winter Palace was pretty good, though not amazing. I mostly liked that Winter Palace focused on someone in the court Catherine the Great, which is a nice change from all the Tudor books I usually see.

    I tried the first Outlander book and couldn’t stand it. I felt really bad for the guy the main character left behind. He seemed so nice! :/

    • lavenderlines January 11, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      I am so not a hist-fic reader! I’ll def let you know how I like Winter Palace.

  4. Random House Canada (@RandomHouseCA) February 1, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Eva Stachniak’s “The Winter Palace”!

Leave a Reply

