The 2012 TBR Pile Challenge

3 Jan

So, reading challenges scare me. There, I’ve said it. As soon as I sign up I start to feel all panicky. I kinda suck at a reading schedule. In fact, I think I’ve only ever signed up for one challenge.  But this year I want to make some changes,not just here on the blog, but with my reading habits and life in general. And part of those changes involves signing up for – and finishing – reading challenges. And the fisrt one I’m signing up for is The 2012 TBR Pile Challenge.

So basically I have to pick twelve books that I’ve had for over a year and promise to read them before December 31st. And I also have two alternatives in case one or two of the twelve aren’t my cup of tea.

So here’s my list! As I read and review each one, I’ll pop back here and link to the review.

Going Bovine by Libba Bray
The Nine Lives of Travis Keating by Jill MacLean
Rattled by Lisa Harrington
Gone by Michael Grant
Nightingale’s Lament by Simon R. Green
Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman
Monster by A. Lee Martinez
Away From Her by Alice Munro
The Shack by William P. Young
The Passage by Justin Cronin
Getting Rid of Matthew by Jane Fallon
Norse Code by Greg Van Eekhout

My alternatives
Leviathan by Scott Westerfield
Nevermore by Keith R.A. DeCandido

There you have it, folks. My books all picked out for the challenge. This will be interesting because anytime in the past I’ve set up a reading list, I’ve never followed it. Fingers crossed! 🙂

7 Responses to “The 2012 TBR Pile Challenge”

  1. www.onebookperweek.ca January 3, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    Interesting list – I have read none of them, so will be interested int he reviews. Good luck!

  2. Marie January 3, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

    Good luck! I’m not good at reading challenges either. I put too much pressure on myself and/or lose interest half way though. Don’t forget to have fun.

  3. Roof Beam Reader January 3, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Glad you’re joining us! I’ve got a few of these on my shelves, though none of them made my list this year. I am hoping to read Leviathan at some point in 2012… looking forward to all your reviews! Good luck!

  4. Andrea January 3, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    I like this challenge. I have about 30 books on my shelf I’ve started reading but lost interest in for one reason or another. I’m not saying I’ll make it (Cause let’s face it, that hard cover of War and Peace has been on my To-Read Shelf for the past three years now). But I might just declare myself trying this one out.

    You know, unofficially.

  5. Cait H. January 3, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    Good luck! I’m doing a similar challenge and it’s definitely daunting. I hope you read Gone – I loved it, but haven’t made my way to the rest of the series yet (though I own them).

  6. Bibliotropic January 3, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Best of luck with your reading challenge. Given my To Read pile, I’m sorely tempted to sign up for this challenge myself, but the way things with me tend to go, I’ll vow to read specific books and then not actually read them because other stuff comes along that I want to read more.

  7. Jaclyn January 3, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

    Good luck! I love the Gone series by Michael Grant. Can’t wait to hear what you think!

Leave a Reply

