My best reads of 2011

1 Jan

Okay, so I was hoping to read 100 books in 2011, but I only finished 91 ( I know, I know for some that’s a HUGE number. But for me, not so much). And out of those 91 books there were only a couple I really didn’t like. A handful I was meh about. Most of them I really, really liked. And I few of them found their way into my “I loved it and will keep loving it forever and ever and recommend that everyone reads it” list.

Here’s my top read of 2011, in no particular order. And I’m quite happy to see that the majority of them are by Canadian authors. 🙂

The Virgin Cure by Ami McKay –  So beautifully written. I loved Moth and her story and can’t wait to hear more.
Dark Inside by Jeyn Roberts – This one was CREEPY! Reminded me a lot of Stephen King’s The Stand.
Betsy Wickwire’s Dirty Secret – This one had my favorite secondary character of the year, Dolores. And it was funny and quirky and I am in love with it.
Falling Backwards by Jann Arden – It’s Jann. In book form. What else can I say?
How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr – This one killed me in all the good ways a book should. My fave YA contempt read of the year and possibly forever.
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – This book blew me away with its writing, plot and genre- jumping. Just stunning.
Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari – From the opening scene, I was hooked. My favorite dystopian read if the year. (I liked it even better than The Hunger Games.)
The Canterbury Trail by Angie Abdou – I loved the characters in this one. And how they all intermingled, smooshed together by life.
Pluto’s Ghost by Sheree Fitch – The writing in the book blew my mind. Sheree captures free-flowing thought patterns like nobody else. Amazing.
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan – I don’t even know how to begin to describe my love of this book. By far the weirdest (and possibly most honest) book I read all year.

Okay, those were in no particular order, like I said. But if I was forced to choose my favorite read of 2011? Well, it would be a tie between The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Ashes, Ashes. Two kick ass books that kept me thinking about them long after I finished reading them.

Most of these books came my way as review copies, so a big thanks and a massive hug to all the publishers who sent them to me.

And that’s the list, folks! Happy New Year and happy reading!

8 Responses to “My best reads of 2011”

  1. MartinaCK January 1, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    Yups, I was right. A few more books for my wishlist!!

    • lavenderlines January 3, 2012 at 11:15 am #

      Heh heh heh. :pP

  2. Steph VanderMeulen (@BellasBookshelf) January 1, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    I really want to read Ashes, Ashes, and Will Grayson, Will Grayson. That’s some high praise in general for the ones you loved. I’m hoping to read much more this year. To get over my reluctance to do so because reviews have to be done, and to just do them, just read them, review, and take a much more relaxed approach to blogging. To make it fun again.

    You had a difficult 2011. I’m glad at least there were wonderful books. Wishing you a much better, easier 2012, still filled with satisfying reads!

    • lavenderlines January 3, 2012 at 11:16 am #

      I’m trying to figure out what I want to do with the blog this year. I’m not feeling the reading vibe at all right now and havenn’t enjoyed blogging for several months. Hoping to take some steps to rectify that.

  3. Shari Green January 1, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

    A great list! I have a few of these waiting for me (and I need to add Jann Arden’s book to the pile). I loved HOW TO SAVE A LIFE, too — made my “best of 2011” list, too. 🙂

  4. Marie January 2, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    I recently finished The Virgin Cure by McKay and loved it!!!!! It’s going to be on my ‘best of’ list, too.

  5. Michelle January 2, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Great list! Happy New Year!

  6. amymckie January 5, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    Great books listed here, especially Ami McKay 🙂

Leave a Reply

