Explosive Eighteen – Janet Evanovich

19 Dec

Bounty hunter Stephanie Plum’s life is set to blow sky high when international murder hits dangerously close to home, in this dynamite novel by Janet Evanovich.
 
Before Stephanie can even step foot off Flight 127 Hawaii to Newark, she’s knee deep in trouble. Her dream vacation turned into a nightmare, and she’s flying back to New Jersey solo. Worse still, her seatmate never returned to the plane after the L.A. layover. Now he’s dead, in a garbage can, waiting for curbside pickup. His killer could be anyone. And a ragtag collection of thugs and psychos, not to mention the FBI, are all looking for a photograph the dead man was supposed to be carrying.
 
Only one other person has seen the missing photo—Stephanie Plum. Now she’s the target, and she doesn’t intend to end up in a garbage can. With the help of an FBI sketch artist Stephanie re-creates the person in the photo. Unfortunately the first sketch turns out to look like Tom Cruise, and the second sketch like Ashton Kutcher. Until Stephanie can improve her descriptive skills, she’ll need to watch her back.
 
Over at the bail bonds agency things are going from bad to worse. The bonds bus serving as Vinnie’s temporary HQ goes up in smoke. Stephanie’s wheelman, Lula, falls in love with their largest skip yet. Lifetime arch nemesis Joyce Barnhardt moves into Stephanie’s apartment. And everyone wants to know what happened in Hawaii?

Morelli, Trenton’s hottest cop, isn’t talking about Hawaii. Ranger, the man of mystery, isn’t talking about Hawaii.  And all Stephanie is willing to say about her Hawaiian vacation is . . . It’s complicated.

So, I wasn’t really over the moon thrilled with the last Stephanie Plum book. But man, that was so not the case with Explosive Eighteen! Damn I LOVED this book.  I mean, I really loved it.

Ranger or Morelli. Will we EVER know?  I’m kinda hoping that Stephanie never chooses. Because it’s one of my favorite elements of the series. And with the trip to Hawaii and all that stuff, things really heated up.

Lula and Grandma were as hilarious as ever. Some people complain that there is no character growth in these books and to them I say a big “WHO THE F_ CARES?” These books are fun, cozy mysteries. I don’t mind one fig that we have no idea how old Stephanie is or how much time has passed from the first book. In fact, in Explosive Eighteen Evanovich mentions some things like Twitter and I found it a bit startling. She’s usually kinda careful about not dating the books.

This was a fun read and I had no idea what was going on with the mobster and the missing picture and I loved that. This is definitely a series that I will continue reading with much glee.

5 Responses to “Explosive Eighteen – Janet Evanovich”

  1. Cat @ Beyond Books December 19, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    I still have to pick up Smokin’ Seventeen (and it’s in pb now, too! Yay!). I didn’t like 15 much, but I liked 16. I seem to go up and down with the books, but they always make me laugh regardless of how I like the entire story itself.

    The happy side about the change in pub date for these books is that I don’t have to wait a year for the 17th one to come out in pb. I will have to wait for 18 though.

    I am semi-looking forward to the movie. I have a feeling it’s going to be very bad. I also had a dream the other night that there really wasn’t a movie, that all the hype was just a joke. Weird.

    I am all about Ranger myself. *rawr*

    • lavenderlines December 19, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

      Yeah, I’m torn about the movie. Like you, I think Jennifer Morrison(Emma from Once Upon a Time) would have been PERFECT for the role. I just have a sinking feeling Heigl is going to make Stephanie too giggly and ditsy.
      Ahem, I’m sorry, but Ranger? Yeah, he’s MINE. 🙂

      • Cat @ Beyond Books December 20, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

        You can have Morelli.

      • lavenderlines December 21, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

        Hmm, okay! Heh heh heh

  2. Ann December 21, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    I can think of so many actresses that might have been better for the movie, but then movies very rarely follow the character traits from the books. I loved the first books in this series but the later ones seemed to be fulfilling a contract rather than the heart and soul that were put into the first few.
    Ann

Leave a Reply

