Dark Song – Gail Giles

9 Dec

Ames Ford has a perfect life–that is, she had a perfect life, until her father is fired and her family has to move from their mansion in Colorado to a slum in Texas. Now her mother won’t stop yelling, her father won’t stop drinking, and her little sister hides with a pillow over her head to drown out the fighting.

But then Ames meets Marc: Mysterious. Experienced. Rebellious. Gun-obsessed. He loves her more than anything, and he won’t let anyone stand in his way where Ames is concerned–especially her parents. And when was the last time they did anything but ignore, dismiss, or hurt her? Ames must now decide just how far she’s willing to go for loyalty, for revenge, and for love and if she’s willing to commit the ultimate betrayal against her family.

*This review is a wee bit spoilerish. Not a lot, just a bit.*

This book reminded me a lot of the movie Fear, where Marky Mark – sorry Mark Wahlberg – was a bit of a psycho douche who got into good girl gone kinda bad Reese Witherspoon’s pants.

I liked this book, but I didn’t love it. And, part of this has nothing to do with the book as much as it has to do with the book blurb. I assumed that the book would basically be starting when the family moves, but this wasn’t the case. Almost half the book is about Ames father losing his job. The second half of the book deals with them moving and Ames meeting Marc, and I felt like this part of the book moved a bit too fast for me. Since I already knew they were moving, I was way more interested in knowing what happened once they moved.

Okay, with that being said, this was a solid YA contemp read, one that I actually finished in one sitting. I found the characters were believable and I had a lot of empathy for Ames and what she was going through. But I could also empathize with her family, which left me feeling torn about the path Ames was taking. But this was good. It added to my emotional involvement in the book and what happened to everyone.

Despite my issue with the pacing of the book, I really enjoyed it and I think fans of darker YA contemp will also like it.

Thanks so much to the folks at Little Brown Books for the review copy.

Leave a Reply

