Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares – Rachen Cohn & David Levithan

7 Dec

“I’ve left some clues for you. 
If you want them, turn the page. 
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.” 

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions? 

Ever like a book, but you’re not sure you like one of the main characters? In fact, you’re pretty sure if you met that character in real life you’d roll your eyes and walk away once they opened their mouth? Yeah, that’s kinda how I felt about Dash for a large part of Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares. I thought he was a pretensions hipster. You know the type. Too cool in their uncoolness. For the first half of the book I really disliked him. But the writing, plot and my need to know how things turned out all outweighed my feelings for Dash and kept me reading.

And, here’s the thing: I soon realized that maybe, just maybe, that was how I was supposed to feel about Dash. Because despite my feelings for him in the first half of the book, I enjoyed watching him really grow in the second half. Or maybe he just grew on me. I dunno. By the end of the book I wasn’t in love with him, but I felt like I had a better understanding of why he was the way he was.

On the flip side, I adored Lily from the get-go. I think that the forever awkward teen in me could identify with her. And I loved how Lily and Dash were so different from each other, yet they still managed to make a real connection.

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares reminded me of Serendipity, one of my favorite Christmasy movies. And despite my mixed feelings about Dash, I really did like and enjoy this book A LOT. It’s the perfect read for a chilly December afternoon or evening.

Thanks to Random House Canada for sending the review copy my way.

3 Responses to “Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares – Rachen Cohn & David Levithan”

  1. nymeth December 7, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    I thought I was the only person to have read this book and much preferred Lily to Dash! Most of the reviews I’ve seen call her annoying, but like you I loved her from page one. And by the end I really loved them both. Such a fun Christmas read.

    • lavenderlines December 7, 2011 at 8:41 am #

      I so struggled with this review because of my feelings towards Dash. Glad to know I wasn’t the only one!

  2. raidergirl3 December 7, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    I liked both of them (as I remember) but I work with teenagers, so I see all kinds. I adored this book when I read it last January; it was still feeling a bit Christmasy.

Leave a Reply

