The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

26 Oct

I love when I get a book I wasn’t expecting for review and it rocks my reading world. This was definitely the case with The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, which arrived as surprise book love from Simon and Schuster Canada.

Sometimes when I love a book so freaking much, I have a Hell of a time reviewing it. I usually sit on the review, trying to tone down my gushing a bit before I write it. Well, I read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer way back in June. And I’m still not sure what to write for my review. That’s how much it blew my frigging mind.

This was such a different book. But in a totally “Holy crap I want to marry this book and have it’s little book babies” kinda way.  It had a touch of almost every genre: romance, contemp, mystery, horror, thriller, paranormal. While it may seem that all of these genres coming together would make for a messy, disjointed book, this was far from the case.  The different elements fit together perfectly. Hodkin’s writing style made it seem like all of these genres were made for each other.

What did leave me feeling off balanced for most of the book was Mara’s story. From page to page I was never 100% sure what was going on. But instead of pissing me off like it sometimes does, I loved it. This uneasy feeling of not knowing added another layer to the story, making it even more enjoyable.

To say I didn’t see the ending coming would be putting it mildly. It was a major “What the Hell?” moment that had me rereading passages to make sure I was understanding correctly. Actually, through the last part of the book this happened a few times.  But it wasn’t that Hodkin was writing in a confusing manner or that the plot twists and turns were unbelievable. It was the fact that she so brilliantly tied things together in such a surprising manner that I was once again caught off guard. It was wicked.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was a freaking amazing read and will definitely be on my best of 2011 list. I usually don’t reread books, but I anticipate wearing out a couple of copies.

4 Responses to “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin”

  1. Sheree Gillcrist October 26, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    See. That’s what makes a great book reviewer. Someone who casts their line, sets the hook and then leaves the reader to reel themselves in. Adding this one the ‘The List’:} Thanks.

    • lavenderlines October 26, 2011 at 10:50 am #

      Ah, thanks Sheree!

  2. nicotarquinio October 26, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book, and your gushing praise pretty much seals this as a to-read for me. I hate overly predictable books, and this seems anything but!

    • lavenderlines October 26, 2011 at 10:50 am #

      Yeah, predictable isn’t a word I’d use to describe it. it’s a it of a mind-f–k. Which is AWESOME.

Leave a Reply

