Connie

25 Oct

Her name’s Connie. I found out today that she likes apples and bananas. And the chicken salad sandwich that I brought her yesterday. Today I brought her a bottle of water, some homemade muffins and lemon squares and some hand cream.  I asked her if she needed anything. A toque. I’ll bring her that within the next few days.

I don’t know her story, just that she’s homeless. She  begs for food and spare change by the grocery store that I frequent. She does it politely, though, with a sign. The first few times I saw her I did what most people do: I drove by. But my heart would only let me do it so much before it became physically uncomfortable. So I started buying a sandwich, some fruit and water whenever I stopped in to get some food.

Here’s the thing: I’m not writing this so you’ll all go “Oh that Colleen! Isn’t she a nice girl!”. No, I’m blogging about this because I wonder what the world would be like if every since person that could gave a sandwich, some fruit and water to someone who needed it.  Stopped a homeless person and said “What do you need?”. Helped in someway.  Because we should all consider ourselves damn lucky not to be in their shoes.

I’ve had some really, REALLY hard time in the past decade. And if I didn’t have amazing, wonderful parents that never minded helping out, I don’t know where I would be. They put a roof over our heads when we needed it (letting us live with them rent free for almost 7 years) and food on our table (helping out last year when Jason wasn’t working).

I think we all assume that those who are begging are lazy or it’s a scam. And maybe in some cases this is true.  All I know is that when I gave Connie the hand cream today she couldn’t believe it.  And when I asked her what foods she liked? Her face lit up. Someone was talking to her as a human.

As I was leaving I asked her if she liked to read. She laughed and said, “Yes! But not romance.” So when I drop off her toque I’m bringing her some books to read. Will it put a roof over her head? No. But dammit I wish I could. But it will put a smile on her face and let her know that someone cares.

So this is my challenge to all of you: do something for someone that you know is in need. Drop off a meal to a homeless person. Donate coats to a women’s shelter. Just do SOMETHING.

Trust me, it will make a difference.

4 Responses to “Connie”

  1. Jody October 25, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    This is amazing. Thank you for sharing.

    • lavenderlines October 25, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

      Thanks Jody.

  2. Bella October 26, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    Just another thing that makes your blog wonderful.

    I’m going through a hard time myself. Not as hard as Connie, but still trying. Even so I always at least spare a smile and a few coins, because that’s the least I can.

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Book Angel Emma November 6, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    What a wonderful thing to do ❤
    I know what you mean about hard times and sometimes you just haven't got enough for your own family to give to other people but sharing helps everyone.
    Compassion costs nothing

Leave a Reply

