The Virgin Cure – Ami McKay

24 Oct

Warning: This will be a gushy review with the overuse of the word “love” and too many exclamation marks. 

I loved Ami’s first book, The Birth House. LOVED IT. So when I had the chance to get my grubbies on an ARC of her second book, The Virgin Cure, I giddily accepted.

OMG this book!!!!!! I think I actually loved it a teensy bit more than The Birth House. I always say I’m not a huge fan of historical fiction, but when it’s written as well as and with as much love as Ami’s books, then I freaking love it!

Moth. What can I say about Moth. What an amazing character. She’s dealt the shit end of the stick and she never dips into whining or feeling really bad for herself. Instead, she makes the best out of her situation or tries to change things. She’s only 12 but she’s one of the strongest characters I’ve ever read. I just loved her.

Moth isn’t the only strong female character in The Virgin Cure. Actually, come to think of it, ALL the female characters were strong. But I really loved Sadie, the female doctor that tends to the poor, including Moth. Sadie was the inspiration for The Virgin Cure, and even though she isn’t the main character, her presence is felt throughout the book.  She really rounds out Moth’s story and adds another point of view and dimension to the book.

The research that went into The Virgin Cure is mind-boggling. Like The Birth House, Ami gives readers a clear picture of the time period. I actually felt like I was there with Moth in the turn of the century NY. And I loved how Ami laid out some of that information in side bars. It was just really, really cool.

I loved The Virgin Cure. From the beginning right to the end I was drawn into Moth’s story. Ami has written a beautiful book that is guaranteed to be a huge hit.

Thanks Random House Canada for the review copy.

2 Responses to “The Virgin Cure – Ami McKay”

  1. amymckie October 24, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Glad to see you liked this one so much. I didn’t like it as much as The Birth House, but still loved it!

    • lavenderlines October 24, 2011 at 9:50 am #

      Yeah, I’m wondering if it’s a case of whichever book I just read is the one I love the most. LOL

Leave a Reply

