Smokin’ Seventeen – Janet Evanovich

21 Sep

I love Stephanie Plum. I really do. She’s one of my favorite literary characters and the inspiration for the heroine of my YA urban fantasy series.  She just so much FUN! Seriously. I love her to death. And the whole love triangle with her, Morelli and Ranger? While I usually gag at the mere hint of a love triangle, this one has grown on me. It may be the fact that seventeen books in I still have no idea who she’s going to choose (although I’ve recently declared myself teamRanger).

Smokin’ Seventeen has what I’ve come to love and expect from a Stephanie Plum book: crazy skips, cars being destroyed, outrgareuous outfits on Lula, laugh out loud funny shit from Grandma Mazure and a lot of junk food (seriously, healthy eating while reading one of these books is near impossible. I wanted donuts and fried chicken the whole freaking time. Oh and upside down pineapple cake, whatever the hell THAT is). With all that wacky goodness, you’d think I’d LOVE this book right? Well, there was just one teeny, tiny problem.

See, there’s always a larger mystery in these books. And I NEVER figure out what’s going on or who the bad guy is. Except in this case I knew from the get-go and that was disappointing to me. And for the first time in seventeen books I thought Stephanie was pretty dumb.

So, yeah, I didn’t love Smokin’ Seventeen, but I sure liked it a lot. And I know I will continue reading these books until Evanovich runs out of numbers.

Virtual chocolate donuts with sprinkles to the fine folks at Random House Canada for the review copy.

5 Responses to “Smokin’ Seventeen – Janet Evanovich”

  1. Jody September 21, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Sigh…now I want a Krispy Kreme doughnut :-/

  2. Mrs. Q: Book Addict September 21, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    I agree, I knew the mystery too early. I really want her to pick one, at least for one book. I need Janet Evanovich to have her choose just for a little while.

  3. Rakehell Obi (@Rakehell_Obi) September 21, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Not much into mystery, but I might just give Janet Evanovich a read.

  4. sheree September 23, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I want to be the CDN Evanovitch. I do. Stephanie Plum move over — look out for Lil Cavanaugh– A Merry-time PI. She’s a little more … polite but I hope funny in her own way …

    • lavenderlines September 23, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

      Heh, Evanovitch was the original inspiration for Supernormal, as far as the tone and funny went.

Leave a Reply

