Fury – Elizabeth Miles

19 Sep

Creepy, creepy, CREEPY! Fury was so creepy, and, yeah, scary, that I was bundled up in a sweater and wrapped in a blanket while I read it. With all the lights on. Constantly checking over my shoulder. For realz. And it was wonderful. I’m so happy that Simon and Schuster Canada sent me an ARC.

I LOVE when paranormal books cross over to horror. And Fury totally did that. You got the sense from the beginning that something wasn’t right, was drastically wrong and that things weren’t going to end well. There would be no last minute flury of rainbows and cupcakes, no. Things were going to end BAD.  And I was totally okay with that.

Miles holds nothing back in Fury. The readers aren’t coddled so that they’ll walk away feeling all bubbly and light. I love these kinds of books. Where, at anytime, someone can die or lose everything. Where you think you know what’s going to happen, but of course, you don’t. It’s awesome. Like Fury was.

Em and Chance, the two main characters, were far from perfect. So, when shit starts to happen to them, there’s this moment of, “So what? Maybe they kinda deserve it.” I found I struggled throughout, bouncing back and forth between “No, they don’t” and “Yes, they do.” Which, to me, is part of the brilliance of Fury. Way to make the reader struggle with moral issues. Just like the characters do.

The ending took me completely by surprise, but in a good way. Can’t wait to read the sequel. And I hope the publication of Fury sees a return to YA horror. Cuz I dig it.

3 Responses to “Fury – Elizabeth Miles”

  1. Mrs. Q: Book Addict September 19, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Ok, I wasn’t too impressed with this one before but you made me want to read it. Great post! Adding to my wishlist.

  2. Amber September 19, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    I loved your review! I’ve got this one sitting on my shelf dying to be read! 🙂

  3. Jody September 19, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    This sounds EXACTLY like my type of read. I’m gonna have to look for it once the Run for the Cure is over and I have a little more time on my hands.

Leave a Reply

