Forever – Maggie Stiefvater

13 Sep

It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with the first two books in this series. I LOVE THEM and recommend them to everyone ( have you read Shiver and Linger yet? No? Why the heck not? READ THEM!!!!!!) so of course it makes sense that I’ve love Forever, the third and final book in Stiefvater’s Wolves of Mercy Falls series. And while I loved it, yes, I didn’t love it as much as I loved Shiver and Linger.

Now before you all yell “WHAT? HOW COULD YOU NOT LOVE IT AS MUCH AS THE FIRST TWO????” Let me explain. It was totally, 100% a case of  “It’s me, not you.”

I think because I was so enamored of the first two books that I held back a bit when reading Forever. I know, weird, eh? But that’s me. I knew I was going to be upset and devastated that the series was over. I loved these characters and I knew that regardless of how the series ended, I’d want more. So, to stop a major depression where all I did was sit around, mumble “Cole, Sam” and eat chocolate by the pound, I didn’t allow myself to open up  100% to the story.

Okay, now that’ I’ve explained myself, let’s chat about the book, kk? Despite my above ramble, I did love it. Maggie just has a way with words that makes my heart melt and my breath catch in my throat. I’m usually not one for flowery descriptions (totally not meant as a bad thing guys) but Maggie’s prose, totally and completely beautiful, sucked me right in.

While I enjoyed the Grace/Sam storyline, it was the Isabel/Cole parts of the book and their relationship that did me in. There are both so imperfect and so damaged and so perfect for each other that I found myself really wanting more of them and more FOR them. I honestly think my version of Heaven is Isabel and Cole getting there own series.

When Forever ended (kinda abruptly, my only complaint) I found that it was Isabel and Cole that I was curious about. And it was them that I knew I was really going to miss the most. They truly came into their own in this book.

Forever was a great ending to an amazing trilogy. I think fans are going to be very happy with it. I know I was.

I may have yelled out I LOVE YOU SCHOLASTIC CANADA!!! when the review ARC landed in my mailbox. 🙂

4 Responses to “Forever – Maggie Stiefvater”

  1. Amanda Makepeace September 13, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    I’ve had Forever sitting on the shelf next to me for a few weeks now, but I’m back logged with books!! Must make time to read the end of this story. If it weren’t for you I might not have ever read Shiver and Linger. 😉

    • lavenderlines September 13, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      Heh heh. LOVES being a book pimp. 🙂

  2. Mrs. Q: Book Addict September 13, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    I STILL need to read the first book. It’s sad…not enough time to just read in a day.

  3. Steph VanderMeulen September 14, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    I too have had the arc sitting on my shelf for a while because I’m also backlogged but also because I have to read the other two again first. I can’t pick up where I left off so long ago. I remember when I finished the first one that I immediately picked up the second. So I’m going to start over and read them the way I did the Hunger Games trilogy, one after the other, so I get a full sense of everything. I loved the first two as well. And I too took more to Isabel and Cole in the second book.

Leave a Reply

