Blogoversary giveaway # 8 – Sinking Deeper

2 Sep

This giveaway is for a signed copy of the hilarious Sinking Deeper by Steve Vernon. I seriously LOVED this book.

When I read the blurb on the back of the book, I thought “OK, this is probably going to make me chuckle a time or two.” But it had me guffawing all the way through. It was seriously THAT funny. Roland was a great character and I loved his voice. But for me, it was all about his grandfather, Angus. This was one cool, weird, freaky dude. I just instantly fell in love with him.

While the plot was far-fetched, it was oh-so believable at the same time. Maybe it’s because I’m a Maritimer myself, but if I saw this book as a news story I’d be like, “Uh-huh. Fake sea monster. Wonder what they were into when they thought that up?”

There were also some sentimental (not sappy. NEVER sappy) moments in the story that added a nice balance to the funny. So while I did laugh my ass off, there were parts of Sinking Deeper that may have brought a tear to my eye.

This was just a really great, unbelievably entertaining book.  And now one of you lucky Canadians gets your own signed copy thanks to the fine folks at Nimbus. Just comment below and let me know of a mythical creature that you’re either fascinated with or scared witless by. Contest closes Sept. 4th, 11:59 EST.

13 Responses to “Blogoversary giveaway # 8 – Sinking Deeper”

  1. Jody September 2, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    My absolute favorite mythical creature would have to be a unicorn. I had one (still have it at Mom’s actually) as a child that was about 4 feet long. His name was Champ 🙂

  2. Kim September 2, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    I have always been fascinated with fairies! But every time I go to the lake. I always keep an eye out for Manipogo Lake Manitoba’s monster! No sightings yet!

    • lavenderlines September 2, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

      Manipogo, eh? Then you DEFINITELY need to read this book!

  3. Darlene September 2, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    The little girl in me has always loved fairies and unicorns!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com

  4. Steve Vernon September 2, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    Come home from a day at work to a wonderful review like this! Thank you kindly – you definitely made my day. Glad you dug the book.

    And as for mythical creatures – the bad joke rimshot that lurks inside my soul desparately wants to say something absolutely corny like STRAIGHT-TALKING POLITICIANS…but truth be known my favorite mythological creature has to be the selkie. There is just something sweet and magical about a seal who turns into a person and dances on the shoreline one day out of the year.

    • lavenderlines September 2, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      Ah, glad you liked the review! I’m always happy when I make an author’s day. 🙂

    • Jody Bernard September 12, 2011 at 6:45 am #

      I’m so excited that I was the winner of this giveaway. I can’t wait to get the book…thank you so much. Who knew so many people like unicorns?…and here I thought I was unique 😉

  5. Cait H. September 2, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Loved Unicorns when I was younger (even had the wallpaper to show for it). Now I’m fascinated with dragons. I love the lore surrounding them, from so many different parts of the world.

  6. Trudi I. September 2, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    No question, my favorite is the troll. He’s a norseman and there seems to be so many endless stories about them in Scandanavian folklore … I just wish their lore had made it here before their extinction… 🙂

  7. Melanie September 2, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Ever since I was a kid and read Into the Land of Unicorns I’ve been fascinated with unicorns.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    melvautour(at)hotmail(dot)com

  8. Jill September 3, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    I totally remember hearing a campfire story about a Windigo as a kid that made a big impression. I still get creeped out whenever the mention of one crops up in a story or TV show.

  9. Vivian Mah September 3, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I absolutely love unicorns since I am a big fan of horses and they are so magical 🙂 and are usually described as being really nice. And cute
    vivianmah8(AT)hotmail.com

  10. Shernor September 5, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    I’ve been fascinated by dragons ever since reading Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series when I was a child.

Leave a Reply

