Blogoversary giveaway #5 – Lost on Brier Island – Jo Ann Yhard

29 Aug

So, I have a signed copy of Lost on Brier Island up for grabs! But first, my review. You know, so you can see the awesomeness that you could win. 🙂

I hate when my brain refuses to come up with a description for a book besides “sweet” or “cute”. I always feel that it comes off as a cop-out and that I’m not doing the book – or the author – justice. But Jo Ann Yhard’s Lost on Brier Island is a sweet book. And it was cute, too. And I absolutely, positively loved it.

I really, really loved everything about this book. The writing, the premise, the setting, the characters. It was a great mix of mystery, sadness, lightness and character development.

I loved seeing the growth in Alex as she moves from a sullen, sad girl who really didn’t want to be on Brier Island to opening up to what life and the island have to offer her. And as an animal lover her relationship with Daredevil and how he helped her heal, really struck a chord with me. And I think it will with everyone who reads it.

Lost on Brier Island is the perfect summertime read regardless of your age.

Thanks so much to Nimbus Publishing for not only sending me a review copy, but for sending a SECOND one when the first one got lost. 🙂

GIVEAWAY time!!!!

So excited to me able to give one you you lucky Canadian readers a signed copy of Lost on Brier Island. Jo Ann is one of my fave authors and fave peeps in general.

To enter tell me of a close encounter of the animal kind that you’ve had. Contest closes Sept 1st 11:59 EST.

15 Responses to “Blogoversary giveaway #5 – Lost on Brier Island – Jo Ann Yhard”

  1. Kay August 29, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Bear in Banff – just 2 weeks ago – awesome~~

  2. Laura Best August 29, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    Looking forward to reading JoAnn’s new book! I totally love the cover, and your review has me excited to read it!!

  3. Shannon S. August 29, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    We have a deer that comes to visit our garden about every other day, sometimes she even brings the whole family. Its okay though, its only a hobby garden and my 4 yr old loves watching them from the kitchen window

  4. Cait H. August 29, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    I don’t get many animal encounters, being in the middle of the city and all. However, I was driving down Kearney Lake Rd on the way to school last spring, when five female deer ran across the road (traffic was stopped for them) and began running down the sidewalk due to a large rock cliff blocking their way off the roadway. It was so crazy, and I’m glad none of them were hit!

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway =)

  5. Tamye Machina August 29, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

    I have close encounters of the animal kind every day with my two cats, Moxie and Hobbes. Thanks.

  6. Vivian Mah August 29, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    A random deer on the side of the road 😛
    vivianmah8@hotmail.com

  7. Laurie Lamb (@Laurie_Lamb) August 30, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    My husband came across a huge black snake when cutting the grass. He called us over to see it. My children ran away screaming that it was a slytherin snake!

    laurlamb at yahoo dot ca

  8. ikkinlala August 30, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Not as close as some we’ve had, but there was a mother bear and two cubs in the pasture at the bottom of the hill last night. One of the cubs was up in our apple tree there.

    • lavenderlines September 2, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

      Holy wow! We don’t have bears here, so I’m all kinds of impressed.

  9. shernor September 1, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    On a recent camping trip in central Alberta, a young, very frantic moose tore out of the trees and came barrelling toward the self-registration booth where my husband and I were filling out our campground registration info. Its eyes were rolling into the back of its head and it was grunting loudly, unsure where to go. We ducked behind the booth, but of course that wouldn’t have been enough to save us had the animal charged. Luckily for us, the moose decided not to go for it and ran back into the trees. Whew!

    • lavenderlines September 2, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

      Wowsers! I drive through Northern New Brunswick twice a month and have NEVER seen a moose. While I don’t want to see one up close and personal, a glimpse would be nice!

  10. Melanie September 2, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Here in New Brunswick, we see all kinds of animals. A few months ago we had 3 bears, a mother and 2 cubs, around the house. I’ve also had close encounters with moose, skunks, racoons…It’s a zoo around here! lol

    melvautour(at)hotmail(dot)com

    • lavenderlines September 2, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

      Where abouts in NB are you? I’m in PEI. 🙂

  11. Melanie September 10, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Richibucto (Not too far from Moncton) 🙂

    • lavenderlines September 11, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

      I know where that is! I’m over on the Island. But I’m in Moncton twice a month.

Leave a Reply

