Blogoversary giveaway #1 – Random House non-fiction pack

25 Aug

So, I tend not to read a lot of non-fiction, but that’s something I’m hoping to change this year. I’m currently readin Jann Arden’s memoir and totally loving it!

But enough about me. My first giveaway is an awesome pack of 3 non-fiction ARCS of upcoming Random House Canada books:

Cocktail Hour Under the Tree of Forgetfulness – Alexandra Fuller
Through the Glass – Shannon Moroney
Unquenchable – Natalie MacLean

These all look like amazing books. I may have added each to my massive, staggering wish-list. 🙂

So, how can you win them? First, you have to be in Canada. (Don’t worry, my international friends. I have some goodies coming up for  you guys.) Secondly, leave me a comment and tell me what non-fiction book I MUST read.  Contest will run until 11:59pm EST,  August 28th.

22 Responses to “Blogoversary giveaway #1 – Random House non-fiction pack”

  1. Melanie August 25, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    I haven’t had a chance to read A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard yet but both my mom and sister did and they absolutely loved it. So that’s my recommendation to you.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    Melanie

    melvautour(at)hotmail(dot)com

  2. Wendy August 25, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Wow! Happy 1st blogoversary!

    I love nonfiction and rarely read fiction. I have many I’d like to suggest to you but will leave it at this one:
    Body of Work: Meditations on Mortality From The Human Anatomy Lab by Christine Montross.

  3. Sandra August 25, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    I also read more non-fiction than fiction. Currently I am enjoying the Civility Solution which I think should become a compulsory read for high school as it not only discusses how to react to people who are rude but also how not to become one of those rude people.

    • Wendy August 25, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

      I’m going to check this one out. Thanks. I hope it is available on ereader.

  4. Jen Gallant August 25, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Love the giveaway! You have to read True Blue by David Baldacci. I’m reading it now and it’s excellent!

  5. Allegra August 25, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    You’ve got to read “Moonwalking with Einstein” by Joshua Foer. It’s interesting, thought provoking and very entertaining!

  6. jude doble August 25, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    you should explore the wonderful world of David Sedaris…darkly, laugh-out-loud funny. Try Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim. Jude

  7. Natalie August 25, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    I LOVED Bossypanys by Tina Fey. She’s hilarious! Happy Blogoversary!

  8. olga petrik August 25, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    Definitely check out Glass Castle. It was recommended to me, and I wasn’t really interested, but started reading it anyway. Well, I couldn’t put it down – it’s an amazing story.

  9. Natalie August 25, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    erm.. it’s early. Bossypants, I meant.

  10. sphinxmagic August 25, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    BOSSYPANTS by Tina Fey! Not only because it’s hilarious, but you learn that the TV biz isn’t as glamorous as it seems, and that Fey was fearless when it came to pushing her humour and breaking into a “man’s” comedy world. It’s incredibly inspiring, and every woman should read it and its underlying message that we can succeed by being a little bit of a bossypants ourselves! Fey succeeded not by being “nice,” but by embracing her strengths to their fullest. Thanks for running this contest!

  11. Kay August 25, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Glass Castle was great – we read it at our Book Club. Happy Blogoversary.

  12. in80plays August 25, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    Happy blogoversary!!!
    I’m about halfway through “Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven” by Susan Gilman and I can’t put it down. It’s about 2 21-year-old girls backpacking in China in the 1980s. Intense.

  13. Tamye Machina August 25, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    A non-fiction book that I would recommend is “little princes” by Conor Grennan which is a biography about a man’s attepmts to help the lost children of Nepal from being sold into slavery to child trafficers.

    tamyemachina@primus.ca

  14. Queena Li (@queenali) August 25, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Malcolm Gladwell’s books are brilliant. I love how he chooses seemingly ordinary topics but then somehow manages to do something amazing with them. ‘What the Dog Saw’ and ‘Outliers’. 🙂

  15. Darlene August 25, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    I really enjoyed Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt. Very sad book, though.

    A Child Called It by Dave Pelzer is also very good, but heartbreaking.

    Happy Blogoversary! Please enter me in the draw! My email address is darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  16. billiondollarprincesss August 25, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    I really enjoyed Bethenney Frankel’s A Place Of Yes. It is a self help book with rules you can apply to everyday life.

  17. Jody August 26, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    I love reading Nora Roberts. She has a few trilogies out that I’ve read but the very first books of hers I read was the key trilogy (might not be the exact name). The books are Key of Light, Key of Knowledge and Key of Valour. I loved them.

  18. ikkinlala August 26, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    One that I really liked was Corvus by Esther Woolfson.

    These look great!

  19. Colleen Easter August 28, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    Happy blogaversary. I made a pact (with myself) this year to read at least 2 non-fiction books this year. So far I am at almost 40! A lot of them are fluffier biographies. I have to say that some early recommendations are great – Glass Castle, Little Princes, Bossypants and Moonwalking with Einstein are all great. I would add Sex on the Moon by Ben Mezrich and The Wilder Life by Wendy McClure (esp. if you were a LHOTP fan).

  20. M-E August 30, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Hi there,
    I recommend They Fight Like Soldiers, They Die Like Children: The Global Quest to Eradicate the Use of Child Soldiers by Roméo Dallaire. Difficult subject but very interesting book.
    Maria Elena

  21. Sunshine G September 1, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    Finding Your North Star – I’m immersed in it at the moment!

Leave a Reply

