Some changes coming

17 Jul

So, you’ve probably noticed that I haven’t really posted a whole Hell of a lot in the last couple of months. I don’t anticipate a flurry of reviews coming up so I thought it was only fair that I explain myself.

I don’t enjoy blogging anymore. There, I said it. And to add some more shock, I don’t enjoy reading anymore, either.

I think this is more than the usual reading slump that we all go through from time to time. I’m reading books, it’s just taking me forever to get through them and I’m not really enjoying them, for the most part.  And when I do manage to finish a book, I don’t really have anything to say about it. The last thing I want to do is to write a review. Which is why I haven’t been posting any reviews lately.

So I’m taking a break. I have a few reviews written (kinda) and will be posting them this month. But for the month of August I won’t be posting ANY reviews.  And I won’t be reading any review books. If I owe you a review, I will get to it, I promise. But to give those review books a fair chance, I need a break.

I’m hoping this official break will reanimate my love of reading and all things bookish. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to get back to reading for the love of reading, not because I HAVE to. I’m hoping it will stop feeling like a job. An often stressful job that I pretty much fail at most of the time. I don’t want this blog and reviewing books to be a burden, and that’s where I am right now.

I’ll still be reading in August, but I’ll be hitting my personal shelves and revisiting some old favorites. I’ll still be around a bit on Twitter and Facebook.

This feels like the right decision for me at this time.

Happy reading,

Colleen

18 Responses to “Some changes coming”

  1. Jo Ann Yhard July 17, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    No apologies needed, everyone needs and deserves a vacation! You’ve been doing a lot, including the hugely successful and amazing Slave Lake Book Auction and opening The Book Nook. Enjoy the summer!!!
    Hugs to you!

  2. Amanda Makepeace July 17, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Blogging, especially book blogging, is time consuming and often draining. I don’t blame you one bit for wanting a break. I’m relieved I never put my all into reviewing books–I do get a few here and there from publishers, but nothing like you. I realized last week that I’d much rather be writing my own stuff than always concerned about a review for a book I felt obligated to read. I hope you feel refreshed after your break. *hugs*

  3. chrystal July 17, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    Enjoy your break. I have been debating something similar…. I’ll probably just read books from my personal pile and might review them instead. Have fun reading…. it shouldn’t be a chore to do…it’s supposed to be enjoyable. Hope you get that love back. 🙂

  4. Jeanne Duperreault July 17, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Reading should be fun, refreshing, and something you look forward to. When it stops being that, then there’s something wrong. Enjoy the time off! Hope you get back to simply reading for the joy of it.

  5. Betty Gelean July 17, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    I find it difficult to write some reviews, just can’t seem to get into the story in such a way that I can really say anything. Book blogging is tiring. Reading so many books then writing about them can really drain you. I know you enjoy doing what you do, so hope you will get a rest away from it, and come back to it later. You are probably burned out on it right now. Hope you feel better, take a complete break if you can.

  6. Jo July 17, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    Completely understand the need for a break. 🙂 Maybe try rereading something you liked — that sometimes makes me feel a bit more rejuvinated.

  7. amymckie July 17, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    You gotta do what makes you happy! ❤

    • khunji July 17, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      I totally agree with you amy.. if this is what you need to do then go for it and don’t feel guilty. Everyone deserves a break.
      Besides, we artists are usually going through a lot from within ourselves, with the voice in our head, our gut, our conscience and of course a lil bit of insecurity. its only natural to feel this way

  8. Cait H. July 17, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Sometimes, you just gotta take a break from things! You’re happiness and well-being always comes first – enjoy the away time! 🙂

  9. Kim July 18, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    I’m sorry that you’re not enjoying reading anymore:( I hope a break will allow you to find the love again! I enjoy your reviews very much and look forward to their return, when you are ready!
    Take the time you need and we’ll be here when you get back!

  10. Steph VanderMeulen July 18, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Ah. I understand, I really do.

  11. mummazappa July 22, 2011 at 4:51 am #

    Sometimes I get like this too, I feel like it’s all work and not fun, and usually find I’ve been reading what I think I should be reading instead of what I actually want to. I hope you have a great break and get your reading mojo back 🙂

  12. raidergirl3 August 1, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Hi Colleen,
    I saw the Book Nook from the road this weekend on the way to Summerside! what kind of hours do you open the Book Nook? I’d love to stop by some time. Do you buy and sell?
    Elizabeth

    • lavenderlines August 1, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      Heya Elizabeth! Sent you an email. :0)

  13. Andrea August 19, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    I’m all for reading because it’s enjoyable not because you have to. Enjoy the freedom and I hope you find your love of reading again!

  14. Steve Vernon August 23, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    I was a reviewer for about two years for several horror magazines and online sites. I made about ten to twenty bucks per review and got a whole lot of free books in the bargain.

    But I also got books I didn’t want to read.

    And I also found I didn’t have time to read the books that I actually just wanted to read for the pleasure of it.

    So, after 2 years I backed out.

    I still get the occasional free book in the mail. I rarely read them.

    Take a month and chill. Everybody needs a vacation!

  15. Steve Vernon August 23, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    And as for blogging – my golly, but it’s hard to be on-the-clock spontaneous, three times weekly – isn’t it???

    (insert rueful grin, on account of I will not LOL for any man, woman or beast)

    • lavenderlines August 23, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

      Heh, heh, heh.

Leave a Reply

