Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares

28 Jun

Publisher:Random House Canada
Released: June 14th, 2011
Genre: adult fiction
Review copy from publisher.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Ann Brashares comes the welcome return of the characters whose friendship became a touchstone for a generation. Now Tibby, Lena, Carmen, and Bridget have grown up, starting their lives on their own. And though the jeans they shared are long gone, the sisterhood is everlasting.

Despite having jobs and men that they love, each knows that something is missing: the closeness that once sustained them. Carmen is a successful actress in New York, engaged to be married, but misses her friends. Lena finds solace in her art, teaching in Rhode Island, but still thinks of Kostos and the road she didn’t take. Bridget lives with her longtime boyfriend, Eric, in San Francisco, and though a part of her wants to settle down, a bigger part can’t seem to shed her old restlessness.

Then Tibby reaches out to bridge the distance, sending the others plane tickets for a reunion that they all breathlessly await. And indeed, it will change their lives forever—but in ways that none of them could ever have expected.

As moving and life-changing as an encounter with long-lost best friends,Sisterhood Everlasting is a powerful story about growing up, losing your way, and finding the courage to create a new one.

From Random House Canada website

Okay, so this is going to be a bit of a weird review. Why? Because I can’t really talk about ANYTHING in this book without giving plot points away. And I won’t do that to you guys. So I’m going to try to talk about the book without actually talking about the book, kk? Should make for interesting times.

I LOVED the first four books in this series. So much that I read them all in three days. I loved Tibby, Lena, Carmen and Bee like they were my own friends. I loved getting to be a part of their lives and watching them grow up.  They’re the type of characters that I was dying to read more about, so I was super excited (read:screaming and jumping up and down) when I head that Brashares was coming out with another sisterhood book filling us in on their lives 10 years later.

I liked this book. And I didn’t like this book.  I know, I know, really helpful, right? I loved catching up with the girls again, but Brashares does some things that I just didn’t like. But I can’t tell you. Cuz then I’d ruin the book for you. Because of this love/hate relationship I had with the book, it was a bit of a difficult read, even though I devoured it in an afternoon. I kept flipping back between being in awe of where Brashares was taking the girls and being pissed off with where she was taking the girls.

I also felt that the ending was a bit over-the-top, melodramatic and tied together too neatly. All things I normally HATE. But for some reason it worked in Sisterhood Everlasting. I liked where things ended up (for the most part). And I wanted to read more. I want to know what happens in a year. Five years. Ten years. I think, no  matter how many sisterhood books there are, I will always want to know more.

3 Responses to “Sisterhood Everlasting by Ann Brashares”

  1. LR June 28, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    I had a really hard time reviewing this book as well without spoiling the story. Like yourself, no matter what Brashares does with the Sisterhood, she always leaves me wanting more!

  2. Colleen Easter June 28, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    The book itself is not really good – overwritten and cliched and a bit too dramatic. That said, I did love this book. These are my bestest friends and I had to know what happened to them. I laughed, I cried, it was a sisterhood book. Anyone who loves these characters has to read this book. I read it in one afternoon as well, and finding out what happened to them was amazing.

  3. Meg July 15, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    You’re right — it couldn’t have been anymore challenging to discuss the plot of this book than it was! Every single thing I wanted to discuss was a major spoiler, so I wound up writing a long review that danced around all the issues. You definitely enjoyed this one more than I did, but I’m still glad I read it! It was nice to be reunited with the girls once more.

Leave a Reply

