Pluto’s Ghost by Sheree Fitch

1 Jun

Publisher: Random House Canada
Released: September 28, 2010
Genre: YA contemp
I heard Sheree read a snippet at Word on the Street and I was hooked.

“Murderer. It’s one kick in the belly of a word isn’t it? Has a taste, too. It tastes like barbed wire and has wild hyena eyes. Murderer. Murder-her. Did he? Did I? That’s when I remember what I want to forget.”

Jake Upshore has loved Skye Derucci since before he can remember. Volatile, complex and frustrated (he’s got a label disorder from all the labels he’s been given) at the best of times, Jake’s on a desperate quest to find Skye before she aborts the baby he believes is his. As he hurtles headlong toward certain tragedy, Jake relives the fatal choices he’s made and the powerful forces that have led him to this to end. A gripping thriller and a heart-wrenching love story,Pluto’s Ghost is a raw and powerful novel about anger, escape, and redemptive love.

From Random House Canada website.

I’m not even sure I can write a review for Pluto’s Ghost. If I had a million dollars my review would simply be to buy each and every one of you your own copy.

The writing. Oh my God, the writing! I know I throw around the words brilliant, amazing and awesome a lot on the blog, probably to the point that they’ve lost their impact, but all of these words come to mind when I think of the writing in Pluto’s Ghost. It was so wonderful and awe-inspiring that it hurt. I mean I read passages and then had to stop to catch my breath.

Jake is one of the most unique voices that I’ve read in a long time. He’s not necessarily an overly likable or cuddly character, but I couldn’t help but feel for him and what he was going through. He’s damaged and he knows it.

The story of Jake’s journey to find Skye wasn’t a straight trip from point A to point B and we learn so much about him from his little mini-adventures. And where he finally ends up and the climax to the his story took me completely by surprise.

Pluto’s Ghost is definitely one of my favorite reads of the year so far. Haunting and honest, I think it’s going to stick with me for a while.


One Response to “Pluto’s Ghost by Sheree Fitch”

  1. octoberdaniels June 11, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Loved the review! I’ll definitely keep an eye out for this one next time I browse.

Leave a Reply

