Real Mermaids Don’t Wear Toe Rings by Helene Boudreau

19 May

Publisher: Sourcebooks
Released: Dec 1st, 2010
Genre: YA, tweens, paranormal
Purchased for Coco my Kobo.

Freak of nature takes on a whole new meaning…

If she hadn’t been so clueless, she might have seen it coming. But really, who expects to get into a relaxing bathtub after a stressful day of shopping for tankinis and come out with scales and a tail?

Most. Embarrassing. Moment. Ever.

Jade soon discovers she inherited her mermaid tendencies from her mom. But if Mom was a mermaid, how did she drown?

Jade is determined to find out. So how does a plus-size, aqua-phobic mer-girl go about doing that exactly? And how will Jade ever be able to explain her secret to her best friend, Cori, and to her crush, Luke?

This summer is about to get a lot more interesting…

From Sourcebook website

OMG, OMG,  O.M.G!!!!!!  Cute, cute, CUTE! Loved, loved LOVED!!!!!!!! Buy it, buy it, BUY IT!!!!!!!!!

And that’s basically my review. Okay, I guess I should do some specific gushing of why this book was so wonderful and why you all must buy it right away so you can love it as much as I do.

It’s been quite a few years since I’ve been Jade’s age, but some of the things she embarrassingly goes through made me cringe in an holy-crap-that’s-so-embarrassing way. Boudreau nails those moments and I dare anyone to read them and not be able to identify with Jade.

This was a gigglicious book. There were laugh out loud moments and I found myself chuckling through most of. I really enjoy my paranormal with a side dish of funny and that’s exactly what Real Mermaids Don’t Wear Toe Rings was. It was the perfect balance of serious and light.

Despite the fact that this was a humorous book, there was a lot of meat to it and I LOVED the whole mermaid angle. There’s mythos and mystery throughout and the plot had me hooked until the end. Actually, it had me hooked well past the end because as soon as I finished it I started hounding Helene about how much I needed more of Jade. And thankfully there is a sequel in the works. 🙂

5 Responses to “Real Mermaids Don’t Wear Toe Rings by Helene Boudreau”

  1. Jennifer Rayment May 19, 2011 at 9:50 am #

    Ok after your review I am moving this up on my tbr pile – I have had it since February from the OLA conference – after I finish my have to reads I will read it

  2. deniz May 19, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Yay! This is is exactly how I feel about the book too. Can’t wait for the next one!

  3. Bella May 20, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    This book was so cute and I cant wait for the sea-quel!!!

  4. Emma Book Angel June 12, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    I have just finished Forgive my FIns and thought that was cute. I am adding this to my mermaid wish-list. THank you 😀 😀

    • lavenderlines June 17, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      Haven’t read Forgive My Fins though I hear it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

