Alice, I Think by Susan Juby

18 May

Publisher: HarperCollins Canada
Released: June 5th, 2003
Genre: YA contempt
Bought at a second hand store with much sqeeing.

After her first counselor has a meltdown, Alice MacLeod and her new counselor decide that Alice’s horizons should be expanded. Enter Alice’s Life Goals List. It’s time to grow up, act her age, maybe even go back to high school after years of being taught at home. Alice is on the hunt for a look, a social life, a job, a boyfriend, and, most importantly, a half-decent haircut. But getting those things in Smithers, B.C., isn’t easy. Particularly if Irma of Irma’s Salon is in charge of the new look.

Sporting a new haircut that is reminiscent of a large construction helmet, Alice is attacked by marauding headbangers as she sits in the family station wagon in the parking lot of the Smithers Grocery Giant. Her mother comes to the rescue and the situation ends up in a brawl. An aging hippie chick who makes her children wear lead aprons in front of the computer, Alice’s mom is just one of the novel’s wonderful and wacky characters.

Alice, I Think is about that all-important good haircut, the one that has the potential to change your life. It is also about becoming who you want to be, on your own terms.

From HarperCollins Canada website

Okay, this book kicked ass. And I kicked mine for taking so long to read it. When another one of my favorite Canadian authors, Susin Nielsen, mentioned I should read it, well, I did. And I loved it.

I love that Alice is, well, a bit odd (okay A LOT odd) but doesn’t seem to notice. She marches to the beat of a very different drums and she’s okay with that.  She keeps trying to fit in, but just keeps missing the mark. From her new haircut to her amazing new style, she tries to make an impression and she does: it’s just not the right one.

I felt sorry for Alice, but at times I was also a bit envious of her. I mean, sure she was an outcast even among outcasts and the harder she tried the worst things became, but at the same time she didn’t seem to care a whole Hell of a lot. And she stayed true to herself as she tried again and again to tackle her list of life goals and turn things around.

This was a funny book, but I never once felt that I was laughing AT Alice. It was more that I was laughing at the situations she got herself into because the former teen in me could identify with her and sympathize with her.

I was very excited to discover that there are more Alice books. They are definitely on the top of my “must buy” list. Alice is a character that I want to spend some more time with, for sure.

*NOTE: While looking for another book I discovered I actually OWN a copy of Miss Smithers, the next Alice book. Color me excited!*

2 Responses to “Alice, I Think by Susan Juby”

  1. Kim May 18, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    I like the sound of this book, I’ll definitely put it on my to-read list! Thanks for the review!

    • lavenderlines May 18, 2011 at 10:25 am #

      You should totally read it.

Leave a Reply

