Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride

2 May

Publisher: Henry Holt & Co.
Released: Oct 12th, 2010
Genre: YA paranormal
Bought for Coco by Kobo.

Sam leads a pretty normal life. He may not have the most exciting job in the world, but he’s doing all right—until a fast food prank brings him to the attention of Douglas, a creepy guy with an intense violent streak.

Turns out Douglas is a necromancer who raises the dead for cash and sees potential in Sam. Then Sam discovers he’s a necromancer too, but with strangely latent powers. And his worst nightmare wants to join forces . . . or else.

With only a week to figure things out, Sam needs all the help he can get. Luckily he lives in Seattle, which has nearly as many paranormal types as it does coffee places. But even with newfound friends, will Sam be able to save his skin?

From Henry Holt & Co. website.

I have a confession to make: I bought this book based solely on the title. I had no idea what it was about. I knew it was YA and I figured it was a paranormal, but besides that I knew nada. Except that it had the coolest, funniest, geekiest title I’d seen in a while.

This was a fun read. Each chapter was titled with a song title, which was super cool. I loved the necromancer angle and there’s some funny shit that happens.

While I enjoyed Sam, there are a couple of other characters that stole the show for me. Sam’s friend Brooke is hilarious and for reasons I can’t really say, but trust me. She has some of the best lines in the book. And Ashley the ghost? OMG I loved her.

I think any one who enjoys their YA paranormal fare with a bit of tongue in cheek and lightness will enjoy Hold Me Closer, Necromancer. I believe there’s a second book coming out. There better be a second book coming out. Cuz this was too good to be a stand-alone book.

One Response to “Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride”

  1. mummazappa May 3, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    I loved this book! And I agree, I hope like crazy there’s a book two!

Leave a Reply

