Blog Tour and Giveaway: There’s Lead in your Lipstick by Gillian Deacon

29 Apr

Publisher: Penguin Canada
Released: Dec 28th, 2010
Genre: non-fiction, environmental, health
From publisher for review.

By the time she heads out the front door, the modern woman has spritzed, sudsed, and slathered herself in more than 127 different chemicals, many of them more toxic than beautifying.

So how can you look and feel great while safeguarding your health? Get smart and go green from head to toe with the help of eco-expert Gillian Deacon. In The Green Body Guide, you’ll learn how to read the ingredients to identify and understand the preservatives that are bad for your body and damaging to the earth, including formaldehyde in deodorant, nail polish, soap, shampoo, and shaving cream; coal tar in hair dyes; lead in lipstick; and many more. This is an indispensable handbook of personal-care choices that are sustainable, both for your health and for the earth.

From Penguin Canada website.

I have a new bible and it is Gillian Deacon’s There’s Lead in Your Lipstick. I finished the book, put it down, went into the bathroom and got rid of pretty much ALL by beauty products. Why? Because Deacon’s book helped solidify something I kinda knew for awhile now: most beauty products are full of all kinds of icky and toxic ingredients aren’t all that great for us.

I went on a big all natural kick a few years ago but found myself discouraged by false advertising and a confusing list of ingredients. A product would say “all natural” then sneak in one or not not so natural products. So I found myself slowly going back to my old ways and picking up products based on price, scent and what it promised me. Well, no more.

The great thing about this book is it isn’t all that preachy. Deacon basically tells it like it is, backs it up with stats, studies and websites and then lists alternatives. I LOVE that for each chapter she gives readers a list of companies that have products that are better for us. The idea of having to study ingredients in products and see if they are harmful or not is a bit stressful to me. I was also happy to discover that I was actually using a few products that were on her lists. 🙂

While there is a lot of science in this book (the list of ingredients to avoid reminded me of studying for grad ten chem) the tone was very conversational which made for a quick read. A scary read at times, but a quick one.

Deacon also sprinkles the books with some DIY recipes to replace your traditional cosmetics and beauty products. She’s made and tested them all herself. Here’s one that’s pretty much good enough to eat:

Make It Yourself: Moisturizing Mask
Greek yogourt is also very moisturizing and can be used as
a base for this mask.
1/2 medium to large avocado 1/2
1 to 2 tbsp honey 5 to 15 mL
Puree ingredients together in a blender or whip by hand.
For dry, sensitive skin, add one tablespoon of oatmeal and
on tablespoon of water.
Mix together into a smooth paste and apply to the face and
neck area, leaving on for about ten minutes.

*From There’s Lead in Your Lipstick by Gillian Deacon (Penguin Canada). Copyright © Backbone Inc. FSO Gillian Deacon, 2011

If you use beauty products, this book is a MUST HAVE. Honestly. I learned a lot and now I can start making sure that I don’t put any toxins or chemicals on my skin. Every household should have a copy of this book.

GIVEAWAY

Okay, I want to clone myself, change my name and enter this giveaway. That’s how awesome it is. I have, for one lucky Canadian reader, not only a copy of Gillean Deacon’s There’s Lead in Your Lipstick, but also a BabyBearShop Eco Kiss Kit from SaffronRouge. Told ya it was pretty awesome.

Now, you have to do a bit of work for such an awesome prize, but don’t worry. It’s fun and educational. Deacon mentions the Skin Deep website as a must-have resource for finding out just exactly how bad our products are. To enter the contest grab one of your favorite beauty products, go to the Skin Deep website and do a search for it. Then pop back here and in the comments tell me your product’s score. On the 5th of May I’ll randomly choose a winner.

7 Responses to “Blog Tour and Giveaway: There’s Lead in your Lipstick by Gillian Deacon”

  1. jpetroroy April 29, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    I’ve been thinking more often of stuff like this.
    I chose Clean and Clear Morning Burst Detoxifying Facial Cleanser (facial cleanser), which got an 8.

    • lavenderlines April 29, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      An 8? Wowsers. Most of my stuff was between 6 and 8. Pretty scary.

  2. Geri Durant April 29, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I use Clairol Herbal Essences Body Envy Shampoo White Nectarine & Pink Coral Flower which scored a 5 but I did get rather frightened by the score of some of the other products I use.

    This website is very useful and I’m definitely going to recommend it to friends and do some more research and think carefully about what I buy in the future.

    • lavenderlines April 29, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

      Scary stuff, eh? But it’s also pretty empowering to know that we don’t have to be a slave of the industry.

  3. Kim April 30, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    I chose Lancome Juciy tube ( use it everyday!) scored a 6! Spent about 2 hours searching my stuff, very scary! Thanks for this!

  4. Frances May 3, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    I just searched Burt’s Bees Radiance Day Cream. It scored a 5. Need to understand these a bit more…thanks for the link!

    • lavenderlines May 3, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

      It can be confusing, eh? When a company says “natural” or “organic” we tend to believe them.

Leave a Reply

