Plants for Atlantic Gardens: Handsome and Hard-Working Shrubs, Trees and Perennials by Jodi DeLong

21 Mar

Publisher: Nimbus Publishing
Released: Feb 4, 2011
Genre: non-fiction, gardening
For review from author via publisher.

I am so not a fan of gardening. Everybody told me that would all change once I owned my own house. Yeah, not so much. Thankfully my massive 7 acre yard came with ready-made flower gardens, rose bushes, trees and lilac bushes, cuz God knows I had no desire to plant gardens. I also had no freaking idea HOW to plant a garden.

So what the heck am I doing reviewing a gardening book, you may be asking. Well, when the opportunity arose I thought, “Why not? Maybe it’ll help me with my gardening issues.” And I’m so glad I did. Jodi and her book may just turn me into a gardener yet.

This book is a great resource for Atlantic gardeners of any level. Jodi doesn’t assume the reader is an expert, but she also doesn’t talk down to the reader, either. Rather than coming off as an expert herself (which she is), it’s kinda like having a really knowledgable friend helping you to figure out what to plant in your garden. It’s this conversational tone that really made me embrace Plants for Atlantic Gardens. I love how Jodi throws in little snippets of her own life and gardens into the book.

There’s a lot of information in the pages of Plants for Atlantic Gardens – too much info for this chick to take in with just one reading. Thankfully the layout of the book is perfect for flipping through and browsing.

This is the first gardening book where I haven’t felt over-whelemed while reading. Jodi explained things in a way that makes me feel like I can do – and enjoy – this gardening thing.

Even if we don’t see eye to eye on goutweed. 🙂

2 Responses to “Plants for Atlantic Gardens: Handsome and Hard-Working Shrubs, Trees and Perennials by Jodi DeLong”

  1. Laura Best March 21, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    Great review and it is a lovely book for gardeners and non-gardeners. Love showing off my copy when people come to visit. 🙂

  2. jodi (bloomingwriter) March 21, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    Thanks so much for this heartfelt review, Colleen! I totally forgive you for the goutweed thing. 🙂 And yeah, you can do this…though I suspect you’re going to be very busy working on that project of yours this summer. The gardening will keep. Wishing you huge success with your query and bio struggles.

Leave a Reply

