Dark Life by Kat Falls

10 Mar

Publisher: Scholastic Canada
Released: May1, 2010
Genre: YA dystopia
For review from publisher.
Set in an apocalyptic future where rising oceans have swallowed up entire regions and people live packed like sardines on the dry land left, DARK LIFE is the harrowing tale of underwater pioneers who have carved out a life for themselves in the harsh deep-sea environment, farming the seafloor in exchange for the land deed.

The story follows Ty, who has lived his whole life on his family’s homestead and has dreams of claiming his own stake when he turns eighteen. But when outlaws’ attacks on government supply ships and settlements threaten to destroy the underwater territory, Ty finds himself in a fight to stop the outlaws and save the only home he has ever known.

Joined by a girl from the Topside who has come subsea to look for her prospector brother, Ty ventures into the frontier’s rough underworld and begins to discover some dark secrets to Dark Life.

As Ty gets closer to the truth, he discovers that the outlaws may not be the bloodthirsty criminals the government has portrayed them as. And that the government abandoning the territory might be the best thing for everyone, especially for someone like Ty, someone with a Dark Gift.

From Scholastic Canada website.

What an amazing world Falls has created! It boggles my mind when I read a book like Dark Life that takes place in a completely different world than the one I live in. Sure, this is a post-apocalyptic dystopian, so technically it takes place in our world, but since most of it takes place underwater and includes pretty cool things like Liquigen (used to breath under water) and houses that look like jellyfish, I have plenty to be in awe of.

This was an action-packed book that I think boys will love. Girls will love it, too, but I think the constant action and danger Ty faces will appeal to male readers. But, yeah, this female reader was completely taken with the story Falls weaves in Dark Life. Or rather, I should say stories. Because despite the non-stop action this book was heavy on plot. I was constantly taken by surprise at the twists and turns and just when I thought I knew what was going on, Falls would throw something at me that I totally didn’t see coming.

This was  a surprise favorite for sure. While I could tell I was going to like it, I had no idea just how much I was going to get pulled into the book and how much I was going to end up loving it. And as soon as I finished it I shoved it at the hubs, announcing. “You MUST read this!”

Well, my bookish friends, I’m now shoving Dark Life at you.

7 Responses to “Dark Life by Kat Falls”

  1. Amanda Makepeace March 10, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    My daughter bought this at her school’s book fair. It’s on my dresser waiting for me to clear my TBR stack. She loved it too! 🙂

    • lavenderlines March 10, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

      I think you’ll really like it, Amanda. I can see you wanting to draw/paint some of the houses. 🙂

  2. julie March 10, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    I loved Dark Life, too! It was one of the best books I read last year, and I never would have even picked it up if it hadn’t been at the library.

    • lavenderlines March 10, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

      Dontcha love when a book surprises you like that?

  3. Pamela March 10, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    I haven’t heard of this books, but I’ve been reading more dystopians lately so I might have to add it to my list. Great review!

    • lavenderlines March 10, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

      What dystopians have you been reading Pam? It’s one of my fave genres, so I’m always interested!

  4. Cait H. March 12, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    I loved this one! Ty was a great character, and the underwater world building? Awesome. Great review =)

Leave a Reply

