Mini review: Heartless by Sara Shepard

18 Feb

Publisher: HarperCollins Canada
Released: May 31st, 2010
Genre: YA mystery
Bought.

Four gorgeous girls are telling very ugly stories.

First Emily, Aria, Hanna, and Spencer claimed they found a dead body in the woods behind Spencer’s house, only to have it vanish without a trace. Then, when the same woods went up in flames, they swore they saw someone who’s supposed to be dead rise from the ashes. And even after all that, the pretty little liars are still playing with fire. Call me heartless, but it’s about time someone shut these liars up for good. After all, nobody likes a girl who cries wolf—least of all me. . . .

From HarperCollins Canada website.

I have a soft spot for the Pretty Little Liars series. It was one of the first book series that I read when I started reading YA and blogging. I loved the snarkiness, the mystery and the relationships in the books.  But, I have to admit, I didn’t enjoy Heartless, the seventh book in the series, as much as the other books. At all.

While the story was okay, I had some MAJOR issues with the writing. I found that there was a lot of repetition of phrases and over explanation of something. I mean, on page 271 of a 275 page book, I don’t need to be told that Andrew is Spencer’s boyfriend. That’s been well, well established through-out the book. For me, little blunders like this add up and take away from my overall enjoyment of the book. And by the time I was finished Heartless? Yeah, I was glad there was only one more book left in the series so I can just find out who A is and who really killed Allison. ( I know, because of the popularity of the TV show, Shepard is writing four more books after the eighth. But I probably won’t be reading them.)

Leave a Reply

