Q & A with Catherine McKenzie and a giveaway!

13 Jan

If you’ve read my review of Arranged by Catherine McKenzie, then you know how much I loved the book and how much I adore the author. Catherine is one of my favorite Canadian authors for sure. And I’m so happy that I get the chance to do a Q & A with her! Oh, and I also have one finished copy of Arranged to give away to a lucky Canadian reader. And tonight is the official launch party for Arranged. Congrats Catherine!

Thank you so much for stopping by today Catherine! I loved Arranged and I’m so glad to get the chance to pick your brain. :0)

LL: As you were writing Arranged, were you at all worried that some cultures that still have arranged marriages might not embrace the book?

CM: Sure, I always worry about that a little since both of my novels, though comedic, deal with issues that are serious (addiction in Spin, arranged marriages in Arranged). But I also try to keep in mind that you also can’t please everyone, and I try, as much as possible within the confines of the story, to be respectful.

LL: Anne’s mom is pretty much obsessed with Anne of Green Gables (which I loved, being from PEI). I take it that you yourself are a fan of the red-headed heroine?

CM: I am a huge fan of Anne of Green Gables and have read the Anne series of books more times that I can count. Having red hair and green eyes myself (and a tendency to gab a bit too much), Anne is someone I’ve always related to. If you haven’t read these books, please do so!

LLArranged has a scene that is a tad bit, well, steamy, at least compared to your first novel, Spin. Is it awkward or weird for you to write lovey-dovey (aka sex) scenes?

CM: It’s both! Honestly, when I wrote the first sex scene, I was worried about trying to get the balance right. But I thought it was important to the story that those scenes be realistic and more than a simple kiss-and-cut-to-the-next-morning moment. It was certainly awkward having friends and family read it for the first time though!

LLArranged had a very rom-com movie feel to it. If it was ever turned into a movie, who would your dream cast be?

CM: I generally don’t think about what movie actors might be good to play the characters in my books, and so, no one immediately comes to mind for Anne. I did always sort of imagine Jack as a James Tupper (Men in Trees) type, though.

LL: I’m always curious about what music writers listen to when working on certain projects. Were there any songs or artists that helped make Arranged what it is?

CM: Wow, that’s a tough one because I actually wrote the first drafts of Arranged in 2006/2007. I do often write to music, and at that time I was likely listening to a lot of Ryan Adams, David Gray, Matt Nathanson, John Mayer and the Counting Crows. During revisions I was listening to a lot of Mozella. I also tend to get really into a song and play it on repeat with my headphones on as a way to get energy from a song and tune it out at the same time.  True story: I have sometimes thought of keeping notes of what I was listening to when when writing a particular book to be able to answer questions just like this. But I never did it. Guess I didn’t really believe I’d ever get published 🙂

Thanks again Catherine! Thank you, Colleen! And so glad you enjoyed the book.

The giveaway!!!

As I said, I have one finished copy of Arranged to give away to a lucky Canadian reader. Hmm, what question should I ask you guys to answer? I know! Have you ever met somebody in an unusual way that you ended up dating/marrying? If you haven’t don’t worry:  you’ll still be entered. Since I met the hubs through a personal ad and my folks met when the girl that was supposed to go out with my Dad chickened out and bribed my Mom to go I like hearing about how couples met. 🙂

The contest will be opened until January 25th.

12 Responses to “Q & A with Catherine McKenzie and a giveaway!”

  1. Jody Bernard January 13, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    I wish I could say that I have a romance story like that but alas, I’m boring.

    Great post.

    • lavenderlines January 13, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

      Doesn’t mean you’re boring, Jody! Just means than some of us (myself included) are weird. LOL

  2. Pam January 13, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I’m so glad to hear you pictured James Tupper as one of your character, Catherine! I loved him in Mercy, and then his guest appearance on Grey’s Anatomy.

    I’ve never dated anyone that I met in an unusual way. But, I AM planning on meeting some foreign stranger in my travels and end up marrying him before we move to some random country…. Hey, a girl can dream!

    Great interview and thanks for the giveaway! This looks like a really good book!
    soccer_pam[at]hotmail[dot]com

    • lavenderlines January 13, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

      Wow, as far as dreams go, that a sweet one!

  3. octoberdaniels January 13, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    You asked some great questions–I enjoyed this interview and am interested in the book now!

    Not Canadian, though!

  4. Laura Best January 13, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    A very shortened version: This will sound so 70’s, but my first encounter with my husband was over the CB radio. He told me later, he liked the sound of my voice and that was why he asked me out.His “handle” was the Joker. He’s been making me laugh now for 31 years!

    • lavenderlines January 13, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

      Ah, what a great story, Laura!

  5. jodi (bloomingwriter) January 13, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    Well, let’s see…I met my Long Suffering Spouse on the wharf here in Scotts Bay, when he was helping another fisherman put his boat up on a crib for the winter. Little did I know then that a year later we would be together…we ‘dated’ on board his lobster boat throughout the following autumn before we decided we were made for each other for ever. I still get chills when I think about it.

  6. Lori January 17, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    My husband and I met way back in Grade 10 when my best friend at the time had a HUGE crush on a boy two years older than us. As it turned out, he wasn’t interested in her, but was interested in me. She and I weren’t friends for long after that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Anne Blythe II | Anne Of Green Gables - January 17, 2012

    […] a recent Q & A on the blog Lavender Lines, the author explains why she incorporated Anne into her novel. Here’s a direct […]

  2. Anne Blythe II | Welcome to AnneofGreenGables.com - June 13, 2012

    […] a recent Q & A on the blog Lavender Lines, the author explains why she incorporated Anne into her novel.  Here’s a direct […]

  3. Anne Blythe II - Anne of Green Gables - October 30, 2013

    […] a recent Q & A on the blog Lavender Lines, the author explains why she incorporated Anne into her novel.  Here’s a direct […]

Leave a Reply

