Review and giveaway: Purpose by Kristie Cook

17 Dec

Publisher: Ang’dora Productions
Released: December 15th, 2010
Genre: Adult paranormal, romance
For review from author

Defending souls is her purpose…but can she save her own?

Lost in despair, Alexis teeters on the edge of an abyss, her lifeline of hope fraying into a thin thread. If it snaps, she’ll plunge into complete darkness. With the help of her son and her writing, she’s been able to hold on. Until now. Erratic impulses, disturbing delusions and her own demonic blood threaten her sanity. When she’s forced to choose between hanging onto hope or letting go to serve her Amadis purposes, she faces a decision with inconceivable sacrifices.

Alexis runs to the one place she thinks will provide answers, only to find herself at the center of another battle of good versus evil, not only with the Daemoni, not only within herself…but also against the worst opponent imaginable. But even if she wins, what will she lose?

From the author’s website.

*Disclaimer*
I know I said this review would be up yesterday and that had been my plan. But my crappy mattress and insomnia banded together and my brain was like mush. If I had written the review yesterday it would have sounded much like all the adults in the Peanut cartoons.

I love when a sequel blows me away. You know, when you enjoyed the first book in the series, but then you hit the next book and it’s like “Whoa, this is some great stuff!”.  Well, that’s what happened when I read Kristie Cooke’s second book in her Soul Savers series, Purpose.

I really, really liked this book. Really, really. While there is some romance in it, it wasn’t as romancey as the first book and that was just fine by me.  There was more mythos, action and bad guys and a lot more Owen (who, BTW, is my fave).

Purpose takes place a few years after Promise, and Alexis is not in a good place. I think my only issue with the book was that the first third of it was so frigging depressing. I honestly wanted to reach into the pages and shake the crap out of Alexis. She wanders around pretty depressed and teary-eyed for the first part of the book. She’s gone through something pretty traumatic and can’t seem to get over it. I just wish she hadn’t been quite as gloomy as she was. But she does eventually snap out of it, and for me that’s when the book really took off.

The writing in Purpose was better than the writing in Promise. I know that seems like a bit of an obnoxious thing to say, but it’s true. While Promise wasn’t badly written, there just seemed to be a better to flow to the writing in Purpose. Kristie was really in a cool writing grove.

I think some people that read and enjoyed Promise for the romance may be a bit surprised that Purpose isn’t as romance based. At least it didn’t seem that way to me. And for a chick who prefers her paranormal with just a dash of romance, it was the perfect balance.

GIVEAWAY TIME!!!!

Yay! So, I have one copy of Purpose to give away to a lucky reader. All you have to do is comment below and let me know of a sequel that  you enjoyed more than the first book or what sequel you are most looking forward to (beside Purpose) in 2011. The contest is open to Canada and the US and I’ll pick the winner on Christmas eve.*

*Yeah, so I’m going to extend this contest until the 8th of January because I took a bit of a blog break and so wasn’t promoting it.

5 Responses to “Review and giveaway: Purpose by Kristie Cook”

  1. brandileigh2003 December 17, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    I am most looking forward to Keepers by Beth Isaacs.
    Thanks for giveaway
    brandileigh2003 at yahoo.com

  2. chelsea December 17, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    my favorite sequel is “that sweet far thing”

  3. Ariel Wilson December 17, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    The Septimus Heap series just gets better and better with each book that is released! Each new book pulls elements out of the book before it making it a continuing story. Great books 🙂

    pinkdaddysgirl[at]msn[dot]com

  4. Pam December 17, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    I know you’ll appreciate this: my favourite sequel is Linger by Maggie Stiefvater. I think that the chance to see from Isabel’s and Cole’s perspectives is great (especially because Cole is oh-so-sexy and overall great).
    Thanks for the great giveaway! I’ll have to add these books to my tbr list!

    soccer_pam[at]hotmail[dot]com

  5. CherylS22 December 23, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    I’m most looking forward to the paperback edition of “Entice” by Carrie Jones, the third book in the Need series.

    Thanks for the giveaway……
    Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

