Music Monday: a dog, a drunk and a fight

6 Dec

Three of my favorite Christmas songs are, well, a bit unconventional. But the thing is, I know that at least two of them are beloved by a lot of people so I’m not totally crazy for thinking they’re the bee’s knees when it comes to Christmas tunes.

Snoopy vs The Red Baron has been a fave of mine since as long as I can remember. One of my first Christmas memories is being at my Uncle Sandy and Aunt Kay’s and dancing to this song with my cousins Carol, Gussie and Karen. I’d have to ask my Mom how old I was, but I’d have to say around 5.

I am convinced that Fairytale of New York is one of the most beautiful, heartbreaking and hopeful songs out there. You can play me all the songs about Holly Jolly Chirstmases, Bells and Snowmen you want, but this is the song that makes me happiest at this time of the year. And yes, I am well aware I have issues. It’s just that I think there are more people who can identify with Fairytale of New York than Frosty the Snowman.

And come on, a Christmas song with the words old slut AND cheap lousy faggot? Cool in my books.

OMG who hasn’t known this couple? Or, Hell, been this couple? It just wouldn’t be Christmas without some Ramones.

2 Responses to “Music Monday: a dog, a drunk and a fight”

  1. slpmartin December 6, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    Ha…I’ve always loved the Snoopy song too! 😉

  2. Cait H. December 6, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    LOVE Snoopy!! It’s not Christmas until I hear that song on the radio =D

Leave a Reply

