Intrinsical by Lani Woodland

29 Nov

Publisher: Pendrell Publishing
Released: August 20, 2010
Genre: YA paranormal, romance
Ebook purchased on Smashwords

Sixteen-year-old Yara Silva has always known that ghosts walk alongside the living. Her grandma, like the other females in her family, is a Waker, someone who can see and communicate with ghosts. Yara grew up watching her grandmother taunted and scorned for this unusual ability and doesn’t want that to be her future. She has been dreading the day when she too would see ghosts, and is relieved that the usually dominant Waker gene seems to have skipped her, letting her live a normal teenage life. However, all that changes for Yara on her first day at her elite boarding school when she discovers the gene was only lying dormant. She witnesses a dark mist attack Brent, a handsome fellow student, and rushes to his rescue. Her act of heroism draws the mist’s attention, and the dark spirit begins stalking her. Yara finds herself entrenched in a sixty-year-old curse that haunts the school, threatening not only her life, but the lives of her closest friends as well. Yara soon realizes that the past she was trying to put behind her isn’t going to go quietly.

From author’s website.

I discovered this book the way I discover most of my books these days: via Twitter. The author and I somehow ended up talking and as I always do when I chat with authors, I looked up her book. It sounded interesting and I loved the cover. It ended up being one of the first books I bought for Coco the Kobo.

I think this was one of the darkest and scariest YA paranormal I’ve read in a while, despite the fact that a lot of folks would categorize this as romance. Yeah, there’s plenty of romance in it, but there were times that I could feel my heart rate increase and more than one chill ran down my spin. There were also situations that Yara got herself into, seriously sticky situations, that made me go “WTF??” Honestly I had no idea how she was going to get out of them. But Lani didn’t disappoint and a weird, twisty, never-saw-it-coming solution appeared.  And this is a good thing, trust me. Intrinsical kept me on my toes and my brain engaged the whole time I was reading it.

I was a little iffy about the start of the book and the reason why Yara ended up at the boarding school. I don’t see this as a major flaw or anything, just something that I questioned. But it’s such a small part of the book that it really didn’t take a lot away from it. My only other complaint about Intrinsical is that there seemed to be an awful lot of crying going on. Not that I’m against crying, but I think that when it happens a lot in a novel, I start to become immune to it.

So I’m finding that my whole “I don’t like romance” stance I’ve had for years seriously needs to me modified. I like some romance. There, I said it. And I really like the romantic aspect of Intrinsical. It was sweet and had that whole does-he-like-me-or-not thing going on. Very cool.

So yeah, there were things that I liked and things that I didn’t like about Intrinsical. But I’d definitely recommend it if you are looking for a dark, almost gothic paranormal romance.

 

 

4 Responses to “Intrinsical by Lani Woodland”

  1. Lani November 29, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    Thank you for the great review! I’m so glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  2. amymckie November 29, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Hehe good for you for modifying your stance 🙂 It does sound like you like YA romance anyway!

  3. tahliaN November 30, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    I found you via Twitter too. Hi

    This book’s on my TBR pile. I almost bought it today.

    I like a touch of romance, but not a romance that’s just a romance. I think that the great thing about the YA fantasy genre in general is that it mixes genres – a bit of horror, a bit of romance, some mystery, a touch of the thriller, but the books don’t hang on any one form. So YA romances tend to be more interesting than straight romance.

    Mine combines romance with adventure. The romance is the subplot, but an important one.

    • lavenderlines November 30, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

      Oh, I’d say buy it! Like I said, it’s romance-y, but in a nice way. Or maybe I’m just enjoying romance more as I age. LOL

Leave a Reply

