NaNoWha?

21 Nov

Hey, remember back at the beginning of November I was all gun-ho and uber excited for NaNowWriMo?  How I was going to kick its butt? Yeah, so that plan went to Hell pretty fast and I haven’t written a damn thing since November 2nd. Normally this would make me all grouchy and depressed, but I thought I’d take a different approach to my kinda failure and try to figure out the why.

I realized something about myself this month: I am not a multi-tasker when it comes to my writing. See, I was in the middle of editing SUPERNORMAL one last time when I stopped to try to do NaNoWriMo. Actually, I was going to try to do both at the same time. But looks like my brain doesn’t work that way. But I still thought I should be able to do both, so I ended up doing neither. Not good.

I’m chalking this November up to a lesson learned rather than a complete failure and waste of time. I was also sick for most of the month and am still dealing with a bit of a cold and sore back, but I think even if I had been well, my book wouldn’t have gotten written this month. My brain really wants to finish the final edit on SUPERNORMAL before it moves on to anything else. So I’m going to let it have it’s way.

The month of December shall be about friends, family, chocolate, snow, presents and SUPERNORMAL.

It’s going to be a good month, my friends.

5 Responses to “NaNoWha?”

  1. Kirstin November 21, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    good plan!

  2. jodi (bloomingwriter) November 21, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    I’m glad that you’re not having any guilt about this. It’s not a failure to not be able to do something like NaNoNanoo or whatever the heck it’s called. And the fact that you discovered that you’re not a multitasker WRT writing is a huge positive. Onward and upward; December can’t come fast enough.

    • lavenderlines November 21, 2010 at 11:06 am #

      Normally I’d get into a funk, but I decided to try this whole looking on the bright side thing I hear so much about. 🙂

  3. amymckie November 21, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    That does sound like a great month 🙂 It will have to include another coffee date so I can give you some truffles!

    • lavenderlines November 21, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

      Oooh truffles! Sounds yummy! Yes, we’ll def have to get together for coffee. 🙂

Leave a Reply

