Review: Storked by Wendy Delsol

29 Oct

Publisher: Candlewick Press
Released: October, 2010
Genre: YA supernatural
Review copy from publisher.

Sixteen-year-old Katla has just moved from Los Angeles to the sticks of Minnesota. As if it weren’t enough that her trendy fashion sense draws stares, she learns to her horror that she’s a member of an ancient order of women who decide to whom certain babies will be born. Add to that Wade, the arrogant football star whom Katla regrettably fooled around with, and Jack, a gorgeous farm boy who initially seems to hate her. Soon Katla is having freaky dreams about a crying infant and learns that, as children, she and Jack shared a near-fatal, possibly mystical experience. Can Katla survive this major life makeover and find a dress for the homecoming dance? Drawing from Norse mythology and inspired by THE SNOW QUEEN by Hans Christian Andersen, debut author Wendy Delsol conceives an irreverent, highly entertaining novel about embracing change and the (baby) bumps along the way.

Oh baby! A hip heroine discovers that she has the ability to decide who gets pregnant in this witty YA blend of romance and the supernatural from a debut author.

From Candlewick Press website.

 

 

I think from now on when I’m trying to decide the awesomeness of a humorous book, I’m going to gage it in snortability.  And Stork had snortability coming out its wazoo. This book was laugh out loud funny. And I’m not just saying that. I was reading Stork while waiting for a presentation to start. I ended up snorting OUT LOUD in a room full of soccer moms. Seriously. Then it happened again a few pages later. Finally I put the book away and just stared at my water glass.

Katla was funny and sarcastic, if a bit obsessed with fashion. But after all she is from LA. I also found some of her fashion choices pretty hilarious, but I think that’s because of my major ass-backwardness when it comes to clothes. I am strictly a Tshirt and jeans kinda gal.

I’m not familiar with Norse mythology at all, but the mythos surrounding Katla and the secret society was very cool. The other women in the society were freaking hilarious old bitties and their relationships with each other added a neat dimension to the story.

Wade’s a douche and Jack’s a sweetie and both have some things going on in the background that the reader isn’t sure of. Neither is Katla for that matter.  It’s not the typical love triangle (thank the gods!) and I really enjoyed trying to figure out what the deal was with both of them.

Like I’ve said, this was one hilarious book. Except for a few of the chapters. I found the dream chapters uber-serious and kinda out of sync with the overall tone of the book.  Don’t get me wrong, they were just as well written and important stuff happens in them. I guess because the rest of the book was funny after funny, that I just found the seriousness of the dreams a bit jarring.

But I still loved this book. Lots. And I was so thankful to hear that there’s a sequel in the works because these are definitely characters I want to see more of.

2 Responses to “Review: Storked by Wendy Delsol”

  1. amymckie October 29, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I was really more interested in this book before I knew more about it, after hearing more it sounds kind of odd… but still want to read it 🙂

    • lavenderlines October 29, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

      I think you’ll like it Amy. There’s more stuff that goes on, but I didn’t want to give too much away in my review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

