Review: Dust City by Robert Paul Weston

26 Oct

Publisher: Penguin Canada
Released: October,2010
Genre: YA  fantasy, urban fantasy
One sentence summary: Disney gone bad, but in a good, good way
Review copy from publisher.

Henry Whelp is a big bad wolf—or will be,someday. The only son of the infamous Red Riding Hood Killer, Henry is worried that he may be following in his father’s violent footsteps. He tries to distance himself from his past, and avoids the other teens at St. Remus Home for Wayward Youth, a detention centre in Dust City—a rundown, gritty metropolis known for its production of fairydust. But when Henry’s psychiatrist turns up dead, Henry finds himself on a trail of clues that may lead to proof of his father’s innocence—and the horrifying secret behind fairydust.

From Penguin Canada website.

 

Holy shit Dust City is all kinds of twisted. And I liked it! I mean, first of all, this book is gritty and dirty and violent and oh-so much FUN! I read a lot of urban fantasy and I love when I stumble across one that really knocks my socks off, you know?  This one was very different from the usual YA urban fantasy that I read.

I’m not going to go into the plot or the characters, which sounds kinda funny for a review, but there are so many surprises and wonderful “a-ha!” moments throughout  Dust City that I don’t want to ruin it for you guys. Part of the appeal and fun of the book was figuring out who characters where, what they were up to.

I loved the writing style of this book and I think that it fit in perfectly with the gritty story-line. I haven’t read a lot of old fashioned  murder mysteries, but that’s kinda what the writing reminded me of.  You know, the whole “a dame walks into my office” kinda deal. And I guess that’s another reason why this was such a  cool, unique book: it had both an urban and an old school feel to it.

So, yeah, I have all kinds of love for this book. Really. I think anyone who enjoys fantasy, urban fantasy, murder mysteries or just a well told tale will dig Dust City.

 

7 Responses to “Review: Dust City by Robert Paul Weston”

  1. L October 26, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    you won me over to the book with the first line. the noir-ish aspect appeals as well.

    will have to check it out.

    ~L

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      It was a different read for me, but I totally loved it.

  2. thekams October 26, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Oh yay! I’m so glad to hear Dust City is good; I just bought it the other day and now I’m even more excited to read it 😀

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      You’ll have to let me know what you think. As you can tell I thought it was fabu!

  3. wayofthewest October 30, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    Thanks for the great review — I saw it when Penguin mentioned it in their tweet. Happy to see you connected with the book. Very best, RPW

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Review: Dust City by Robert Paul Weston « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - October 27, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Penguin Canada YR, Colleen McKie. Colleen McKie said: If you're looking for a cool, different YA urban fantasy, check out Dust City by @RobertPWeston. http://wp.me/pAWn2-xd @PenguinCanadaYR […]

  2. R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril Challenge V « Lavender Lines - November 8, 2010

    […] by Courtney Allison Moulton Fallen by Lauren Kate Torment by Lauren Kate Dust City by Robert Weston Ruined by Paula Morris American Vampire by Scott Snyder, Stephen King and Rafael […]

Leave a Reply

