Review: Dear George Clooney Please Marry My Mom by Susin Nielsen

19 Oct

Publisher: Tundra Books
Released: August, 2010
Genre: MG/YA contemp
One sentence summary: Quirky characters + a quest for George Clooney = one hilarious, lovable book.
Review copy from publisher.

Violet’s TV-director dad has traded a job in Vancouver for one in Los Angeles, their run-down house for a sleek ranch-style home complete with a pool, and, worst of all, Violet’s mother for a trophy wife, a blonde actress named Jennica. Violet’s younger sister reacts by bed-wetting, and her mother ping-pongs from one loser to another, searching for love. As for Violet, she gets angry in ways that are by turns infuriating, shocking, and hilarious.

When her mother takes up with the unfortunately named Dudley Wiener, Violet and her friend Phoebe decide that they need to take control. If Violet’s mom can’t pick a decent man herself, they will help her snag George Clooney.

From Tundra Books website.

 

Let me just pause for a moment and worship the awesomeness that is Susin Nielsen. Seriously. I love her writing so much I’m thinking of setting up a shrine.  I’ll call it The Queen of the Quirky Character and it will include a scrabble board, stocking hat, and season 1 DVD of ER. Each day before I sit down to start writing, I’ll pray to The Queen of the Quirky Character to guide me and let me create characters half as interesting as hers.

So, yeah, I kinda fell in love with this book. I mean, the title alone would make anyone wanna give it a read. In a sea of one and two worded titles, it sticks out like a sore thumb. A glorious, wonderful, inspired sore thumb.  And the innards of the book match the awesomeness of the title, for sure.

Violet isn’t always a nice kid and that’s cool. I mean, in the opening scene she does something so horrible, so gross, so funny that I was shaking my head in awe of Nielsen. It takes a lot of guts to start a book off the way she did. I won’t say anything else, but trust me, it’s horrifically cringe-worthy stuff.

In fact, the whole book is filled with cringe-worthy stuff, and that’s what I love so much about Nielsen’s writing. This isn’t a book filled with gorgeous, perfect characters who always say and do gorgeous, perfect things. Oh, no. Violet, her family and their friends are awkward, imperfect and so realistic. She’s a kid who acts like a kid. Kinda refreshing, no?

I also love that we see the characters from Nielsen’s Word Nerd, too, although it took my slow brain until almost the end of the book to realize this. I think it’s awesome that her books are kinda, sorta companion books, but not really.

Dear George Clooney Please Marry My Mom made me happy. It put a smile on my face and made me sigh blissfully. And the George Clooney parts made me snort, for real. Funny stuff. Hell, the whole book was filled with funny stuff, another reason why I love it so freaking much.

6 Responses to “Review: Dear George Clooney Please Marry My Mom by Susin Nielsen”

  1. steph October 20, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    I’ve been wondering about this book, and about Word Nerd. Someone told me meh, but I’m still curious. And now with your reaction, I’m going to the shelves right now… Ah. Working in a bookstore rocks!

    • lavenderlines October 20, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

      I honestly love both books to death Steph. 🙂

  2. Susin Nielsen October 20, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    I am sure it is gauche for an author to respond, but Lavender Lines, you made my week. If you’d like some toenail clippings for your shrine I might even oblige.

    Seriously – I needed a boost this week and boy did you provide it in spades. Best of luck with your own writing pursuits!

    • lavenderlines October 20, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

      *Giggles* I love it when authors read and comment on my reviews! I’ll have to print off your comment and add it to my shrine. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Review: Dear George Clooney Please Marry My Mom by Susin Nielsen « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - October 19, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tundra Books, Colleen McKie. Colleen McKie said: Susin Nielsen's Dear George Clooney Please Marry My Mom lives up to its awesome name. http://wp.me/pAWn2-xr @TundraBooks […]

  2. The 2011 Snow Willow Award Winner « Talking with Tundra - April 30, 2012

    […] Dear George Clooney, Please Marry My Mom By Susin Nielsen Ages 11-14 | 240 pages Hardcover ISBN: 978-0-88776-977-1 Paperback ISBN: 978-1-77049-295-0 eBook ISBN:978-0-88776-978-8 “…This isn’t a book filled with gorgeous, perfect characters who always say and do gorgeous, perfect things. Oh, no. Violet, her family and their friends are awkward, imperfect and so realistic. She’s a kid who acts like a kid. Kinda refreshing, no? … Dear George Clooney Please Marry My Mom made me happy. It put a smile on my face and made me sigh blissfully. And the George Clooney parts made me snort, for real. Funny stuff. Hell, the whole book was filled with funny stuff, another reason why I love it so freaking much.” – Lavender Lines […]

Leave a Reply

