Review style changes – again

14 Oct

You know how some bloggers constantly mess around with the look of their blog, changing the lay-out, adding new buttons, etc? Well I feel I’m a bit like that when it comes to my actual review lay-out. In the past two months I’ve changed the lay-out of my reviews twice, I think. And it looks like I’m going to change it again.

I gave the rating system a go and I think I’m going to drop it. I’m finding it too stressful trying to come up with a rating that I think a book deserves. I’m also afraid that a low or mediocre rating might stop someone from picking up a book that they might other wise enjoy. So, yeah, the rating system is going, as of today.

I’m still going to be honest in my reviews but I’d rather let my words speak for how much I did or didn’t enjoy a book, not the number of points out of five I gave it. It’s a personal choice and I know that a lot of reviewers use a rating system, and I say if it works for you super! But I know it doesn’t work for me.

I think in its place I may just say who I would recommend the book to. I usually do that at the end of each review, but I think I may bump it up to the top.

So if you notice some slight changes in the review lay-out in the next few days, don’t worry: I’m not having a break-down or anything. Well not a big one, anyway. :0P

4 Responses to “Review style changes – again”

  1. amymckie October 14, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Heh, you might as well just say it will stay fluid until further notice 🙂 Change is good though!

  2. slpmartin October 14, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    Change can be a good thing.

  3. steph October 14, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    Too funny! I was just messing about on my blog! I always get the urge to. I removed a page that I wasn’t spending time updating, changed the title of another page, and added a Contact Me widget. Still wondering about removing some widgets…

    As slpmartin said, change can be a good thing. And I agree with your decision to ditch the rating.

  4. Bella October 14, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

    Personally I don’t like the rating, because a 3 doesn’t really say if you liked it or not, so I’m happy to see more reviews with no rating 🙂

    Of course I’d visit you regardless of the changes.

    Looking forward to the new review layout!

Leave a Reply

