Harry Potter Extravaganza giveaway!!!!!!!!!!

14 Oct

 

Okay, so yesterday I said there was going to be a Harry Potter giveaway today, right? Well, here it is!

Up for grabs is a paperback edition of Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows! It’s very easy to enter: just comment below and tell me another favorite MG or YA series that has you just as riled up as Harry Potter. Oh, there’s one catch: you can’t say The Hunger Games OR The Mortal Instruments Series because I already love these books and I’m looking for some reading recommendations. And for the love of good writing, please don’t say Twilight. 😛

The contest will be open until, hmm, let’s say Halloween. As long as The Book Depository delivers to you, you can enter.

For more Harry Potter fun, stop by and visit with Amy over at Amy Reads tomorrow.

53 Responses to “Harry Potter Extravaganza giveaway!!!!!!!!!!”

  1. Kirstin October 14, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    Meg Cabot has some entertaining YA series – I liked the mediator series, about a 16 y/o who talks to ghosts. She also has a series about a girl who gets hit by lightning and then can find missing people. And a whole bunch more. Avalon High is great, but she turned it into a graphic novel for book #2 so stopped reading that. It’s going to be a Disney channel
    movie soon. About girl who finds she is the middle of a constantly recurring incarnation of King Arthur’s court.

    • lavenderlines October 14, 2010 at 8:54 am #

      I actually have the first in her mediator series, but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. I’ll def bump it up the list.

  2. Jordan P October 14, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    I really like the Maximum Ride books!

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

      James Patterson, right? I keep meaning to check those books out.

  3. Emily October 14, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    While I love those series you mentioned, I actually love L.J. Smith — Vampire Diaries, Forbidden Game, Secret Circle, etc. I think her stuff is amazing and I devour it all! I highly recommend all of her series!!!!

    If you want to go way back, though, pick up Little Women, Little Men, and Jo’s Boys. That series is one of my favorites. 🙂

    Emily ebdye1(at)gmail(dot)com

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

      I have a couple of the Vampire Diaries books here, just haven’t had a chance to read them yet.

  4. Pamela October 14, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Oh my, I could name a few. Right now:
    – Wolves of Mercy Falls series (I know you love them already though 🙂
    – Caster Chronicles series (Beautiful Creatures and Beautiful Darkness as of now) by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
    – Fallen series (Fallen, Torment, Passion, etc.) by Lauren Kate. I know you’ve read them, but I’m SO excited to read Torment.
    – Hush, Hush series (Hush, Hush, Crescendo, Tempest) by Becca Fitzpatrick. LOVE THIS.

    Those are the ones that have me obsessed right now. And The MI but you said don’t mention it 😛

    • lavenderlines October 14, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

      I have Beautiful Creatures here (was a Christmas gift) but I haven’t read it yet. I just finished Fallen and Torment. I’ve also read Hush, Hush, but oddly enough I wasn’t a huge fan. :0o

  5. Carol L. October 14, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    I like the Gemma Doyle trilogy, it is a trilogy of fantasy novels by Libba Bray.

    I also love the Blue Is for Nightmares series by Laurie Faria Stolarz

    Carol L.
    Lucky4750@aol.com

    • lavenderlines October 14, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

      I almost picked up her Going Bovine today. Didn’t know she wrote fantasy.

  6. Scoot October 14, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    I really like the Codex Alera series by Jim Butcher (starts with Furies of Calderon). The cover was a little cheesy, but the book is fabulous! I was hooked from the start and now I am on the last book. Great series!

    seescootread[at]gmail[dot]com

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

      I didn’t know Jim Butcher wrote YA! That’s my something new for the day. LOL

  7. Linda Kish October 15, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    Maximum Ride

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  8. Ambur October 15, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    I can see why you’d love TMI and Hunger Games, I totally would’ve picked those ones 😛 lol
    Hmmm, okay other series that totally have me riled up are:
    The Shiver Trilogy by Maggie Stiefvater
    Modern Faerie Tale Series by Holly Black
    Wicked Lovely Series by Melissa Marr
    Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

    I hope that out of those 4 you’ve got at least one you haven’t read yet 🙂

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

      Heh, well actually …… LOVE Wolves of Mercy Falls and Wicked Lovely. I’ve read the first book in the other two series and found they weren’t my cup of tea.

  9. Carin B. October 15, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    No need to enter me in the giveaway because I have the hardcover HP books, but I just finished reading Leviathan by Scott Westerfield and really enjoyed it. It has some amazing illustrations too! I highly recommend it. You might also try Anne McCaffrey’s Pern series which started out YA-ish I guess (although that label didn’t exist back then). The Harper Hall Trilogy by her is one of my favorites of all-time.

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      I have Leviathan and Behemoth here but unread. Hoping to get to them next week.

  10. PinkStuff28 October 16, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    My fav are :
    Harry Potter
    Twilight
    Vampire Diaries

    …hmmm….that’s it for now…since i’ve found this Love for books recently …HP being the oldest series 🙂

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      Ah, you’re a newbie book lover? If YOU need any suggestions from ME let me know! 🙂

  11. Heather October 16, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Maria V. Snyder’s Poison Study series 🙂
    littlebearries@yahoo.com

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

      A few folks have mentioned this series.

  12. Michelle October 16, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    Aww. I love the Hunger Games! Other than that, have you heard about “The Looking Glass Wars”. It’s really good, and even though the summary may sound cheesy, you cannot pass it up! It’s about the “real” story of alice in wonderland. Basically, Alyss is the princess of Wonderland, but when her Aunt Redd tries to kill her parents, Hatter Madigan takes her to the Pool of Tears where she is transported to the “real” world. There the Liddels eventually adopt her, and she meets Charles Dodgson (aka Lewis Carrol). She tells him the story of her life, and then gets mad when he twists it into what we now know as Alice in Wonderland.

    🙂

    luckyblue13@gmail.com

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

      Oooh sounds interesting and twisted. Just my thing!

  13. Andy October 16, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Here are just a few =]

    Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead
    Night World – L.J Smith
    Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare
    Forgive My Fins – Tera Lynn Childs
    Uglies Trilogy – Scott Westerfeld
    The Secret Circle – L.J Smith
    Nightshade – Andrea Cremer
    Gallagher Girls – Ally Carter
    Wolves of Mercy Falls – Maggie Stiefvater
    Evernight – Claudia Gray
    Blue Bloods – Melissa De La Cruz
    The Immortals – Alyson Noel

    I gave you some to choose from not just one category lol. Those are just so fun quick read series. By the way if you haven’t read Vampire Academy yet please start reading it! It’s by far one of the favorite series at the moment. (:

    Thanks for hosting such an awesome giveaway!

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      Holy suggestions! Thanks so much. I’ve read and love a few of these (Wolves of Mercy Falls, Uglies Trilogy, The Immortals. Clockwork Angel) and others are on my to-read list (Nightshade, Forgive My Fins, Vampire Academy).

  14. CherylS22 October 16, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    I really like the Need series by Carrie Jones.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      I tried to read Need and found it just wasn’t my thing.

  15. isaw08 October 17, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

    I totally looooove Harry Potter Series and Hunger Games Trilogy!

    Recommendation that me and my friends/bloggers loove:
    The Mysterious Benedict Society Books by Trenton Lee Stewart
    Uglies Trilogy by Scott Westerfield
    and Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward!

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      Uglies Trilogy was amazing! I’ll have to check the other two out.

  16. Ariel Wilson October 18, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

    I am currently into the Pretty Little Liars series, and they’re pretty good 🙂

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

      I was addicted to this series when it first came out. Blew through the first 4 books in a week. I still have to read the last two.

  17. april yedinak October 18, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    The Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage or the Wind on Fire Trilogy by William Nicholson (or Nicholas) I forget, but they are both great YA and fantasy series.
    ape2016(at)aol(dot)com

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

      I haven’t heard of either series. I’ll have to check them out. 🙂

  18. SarahEm October 18, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    Carrie Ryan’s books THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH and THE DEAD-TOSSED WAVES are really great zombie books. I’m eagerly anticipating the third in the series called THE DARK AND HOLLOW PLACES.

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

      OMG this series blew me away! The third one is going to be EPIC.

  19. Llehn October 19, 2010 at 2:54 am #

    Maggie Stiefvater’s Faerie Books namely Lament and Ballad. I believe there’s like 3 more books in the series coming out soon.

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

      I have both books here (signed copies, too!) But I haven’t read them yet.

  20. Enbrethiliel October 19, 2010 at 3:01 am #

    +JMJ+

    Have you heard of the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz? The first book is Stormbreaker.

    They’re a little old, but I love them all. They were the first MG series I really got into after Harry Potter and that must count for something, right? =)

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

      A spy series! Very different from my normal reads. Thanks for the recommendation.

  21. Stella (Ex Libris) October 20, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    I would recommend:

    the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead
    Hush Money by Susan Bischoff (fantastic!)
    Beautiful Malice by Rebecca James (amazing writing!)

    Thanks for the great giveawaya nd for making it international! Hugs! 🙂

    stella.exlibris (at) gmail (dot) com

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

      Oooh Hush Money sounds so good!!!

  22. Donna/Happy Booker October 21, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    I don’t think there will be a series for me that compares with HP. However, a YA book I recently read and loved was Graceling by Kristin Cashore and also Maria V Snyder’s Study series

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

      I keep hearing good things about Graceling. May have to check it out. Ditto for the Study series.

  23. Karen October 25, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I love the Goose Girl Shannon Hale series! (:

    blissfulrains(at)yahoo(dot)com

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

      I’d never heard of this series so I looked it up. Sounds great! Added it to the massive wish-list. 🙂

  24. maidenveil October 25, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    Wickedly lovely series by Melissa Marr
    and The Demon’s Lexicon trilogy by Sarah rees Brennan. 🙂

    -Len-
    maidenveil(at)gmail(dot)com

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      Wicked Lovely is one of my fave! Can’t WAIT for the final book.
      I have the first Demon’s Lexicon here on my massive TBR bookcase.

  25. Karina October 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I like The Artemis Fowl series, the Maximum Ride series and the Immortals series.

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      I’ve read the first two of the Immortals series. I have the 3rd book here somewhere. The hubs LOVES Artemis Fowl.

  26. Kailia Sage October 26, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    The Vampire Academy Series and Gallagher Girls Series!

    twilightforever.edward at gmail dot com

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      A few folks recommended Vampire Academy. I’ll have to check it out.

  27. kisah October 28, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    have you tried kim harrison’s madison avery series? i started this series after reading all the hollows books….and i’m loving it!

    k_sunshine1977 at yahoo dot com

    • lavenderlines October 28, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      You know I read the first one and wasn’t a big fan.

Leave a Reply

