To NaNoWriMo or not to NaNoWriMo

2 Oct

Since I want to try and have a first draft of WEIRDO completed this month, I had decided to bypass National Novel Writing Month this year. I have tried NaNoWriMo three times and have successfully finished it once. I figured that writing one book in October I’d give myself a break in November, especially since I’m just getting back into the habit of writing on a regular basis. But ……NaNoWriMo is so much FUN! So I signed up.

I have a rough idea of what I want to write. It’s the first in a series that’s been kicking around in my head for about two years now. Actually, when I have bouts of insomnia, I “write” this book in my head as I’m trying to sleep, so it’s pretty thought out. All I have to do for the outline is write the stuff down.

Anyone wanting to buddy up with me on the NaNoWriMo site I go by celtic_aura there.

Oh, for those who have no idea what I’m nattering on about, NaNoWriMo  is a writing event where authors try to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. Yes, we’re all nuts, but we’re very supportive of it.

Happy writing!

7 Responses to “To NaNoWriMo or not to NaNoWriMo”

  1. Chrisbookarama October 2, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    I’m thinking of joining up but I need an idea first.

    • lavenderlines October 2, 2010 at 11:34 am #

      Go ahead and sign up! You have a whole month to think of an idea. :0)

  2. Amanda October 2, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    I’m so glad you’re joining!! 😀

  3. Thaumaturgist October 2, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    I really want to take part! But more importantly, I want to finish the story I am currently writing (and that is cheating).
    So I will have my own little NoFiMo (Novel finishing month).
    good luck!

  4. amymckie October 2, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    Congrats and good luck 🙂

  5. mummazappa October 2, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    I’m doing it for the first time this year! I’ll look for you on there 🙂

    • lavenderlines October 3, 2010 at 7:59 am #

      Oooh a first timer! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

