WotS – My fangirl moment

30 Sep

I had three very specific reasons for going to Word on the Street last week end: pitch my book, buy some great reads and meet Jo Ann Yhard. Jo Ann wrote The Fossil Hunter of Sydney Mines, one of my favorite reads this year. If you know me this isn’t new information, since I’ve been gushing about the book for weeks.

Living on PEI, I don’t often get a chance to meet authors I’ve read, so this had me over the top excited. I’ve been chatting with Jo Ann on Twitter and through email and was tickled pink to find out she was looking forward to meeting me, too.

Jo Ann was part of a panel on writing for YA along with Lisa Harrington and Sheree Fitch. Each author read from their book then answered questions. What I thought was cool was that half of the questions came from the authors themselves, so instead of being a simple Q & A it became more of a dialogue. Very neat.

When it came time to meet Jo Ann, I figured I’d pull my usual dork act, stammer and stutter and not make any sense at all. I went up to her, said hi and got a big hug in return. It was awesome.  Then I just concentrated on the fact that besides meeting a favorite author, I was meeting an online friend. We chatted and she introduced me to Lisa. They both signed their books and we chatted some more.

It would have been great to sit down with Jo Ann and Lisa over coffee and chat about writing and books, but of course they were on a tight schedule. But the great thing is I could totally see that happening in the future.

This is where I would normally post the pic of me and Jo Ann with her book, but I took pretty much no pictures except of the Public Garden ducks and a rat. Next time, Jo Ann, we must remember to get a picture!

6 Responses to “WotS – My fangirl moment”

  1. Allison September 30, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    That’s funny. I was just reading about your fangirldome on Chris’ blog. You are SO lucky to meet an author you admire. *jealous* I would feel that way about meeting James Dashner or Janet Evanovich or JK Rawling!

    I will have to check out your review on this book!

    • lavenderlines September 30, 2010 at 9:48 am #

      Yeah, it doesn’t often happen. I usually have to be happy with getting a tweet from them. LOL

  2. Jo Ann Yhard September 30, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    Hi there fangirl!

    That was so sweet, I enjoyed meeting you too. It’s so nice to meet someone who is exactly as nice as you imagined them to be. We will do coffee – let me know when you are in town. And glad to hear that Weirdo is in the works! Keep writing!
    Jo

  3. Laura Best October 2, 2010 at 6:13 pm #

    Such fun meeting authors! Isn’t it?

    JoAnn and Lisa are great. When Helene Boudreau was in Bedford earlier this year JoAnn and I planned to be there at the same time. Three Nimbus authors. I met JoAnn last year at WOTS when she came to hear me read. First time meeting Helene for both JoAnn and I. It was one of my favourite moments.

    • lavenderlines October 3, 2010 at 8:00 am #

      I don’t get to meet a lot of authors, so it’s always a blast. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention WotS – My fangirl moment « Lavender Lines -- Topsy.com - September 30, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jo Ann Yhard, Colleen McKie. Colleen McKie said: My fan girl moment with @JoAnnYhard. http://wp.me/pAWn2-u9 […]

Leave a Reply

